EPA Science Advisory Board (SAB)

2016 Nominations for Membership on the Science Advisory Board (SAB) Radiation Advisory Committee

EPA Designated Federal Officer (DFO):Edward Hanlon
Responsible Committee/Panel:Radiation Advisory Committee

See EPA’s PDF page to learn more about PDF files.

The SAB is a chartered Federal Advisory Committee, established in 1978 under the authority of the Environmental Research, Development and Demonstration Authorization Act (ERDDAA), codified at 42 U.S.C. 4365, to provide independent scientific and technical peer review, consultation, advice and recommendations to the EPA Administrator on the scientific bases for EPA’s actions and programs. Members of the SAB constitute a distinguished body of non-EPA scientists, engineers, economists, and behavioral and social scientists who are nationally and internationally recognized experts in their respective fields. Members are appointed by the EPA Administrator for a three-year term. Each year, the SAB Staff Office solicits nominations of experts to be considered for appointment to the SAB and its standing committees.

The Radiation Advisory Committee (RAC) provides advice on radiation protection, radiation science, and radiation risk assessment. The SAB Staff Office is seeking nominations of experts to serve on the RAC with demonstrated expertise in the following disciplines: radiation biostatistics; radiation epidemiology; and radiation exposure.