TABLE 4 -- PUGET SOUND CLEAN AIR AGENCY REGULATIONS

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 1: POLICY, SHORT TITLE, AND DEFINITIONS

SECTION 1.01 POLICY adopted 03/13/68 (12)

Revised 11/10/71 (135), 10/10/73 (214), 09/09/99 (895)

The Puget Sound Clean Air Agency, consisting of the counties of Pierce, King, Snohomish, and
Kitsap, having been activated by the Washington Clean Air Act, RCW 70.94, adopts the following
Regulation to control the emission of air contaminants from all sources within the jurisdiction of
the Agency, to provide for the uniform administration and enforcement of this Regulation, and to
carry out the requirements and purposes of the Washington Clean Air Act and the Federal Clean
Air Act.

It is hereby declared to be the public policy of the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency to secure and
maintain such levels of air quality as will protect human health and safety and, to the greatest
degree practicable, prevent injury to plant and animal life and to property, foster the comfort and
convenience of its inhabitants, seek public participation in policy planning and implementation,
promote the economic and social development of the Puget Sound area, and facilitate the
enjoyment of the natural attractions of the Puget Sound area.

State effective: 11/01/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 1.03 NAME OF AGENCY Adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 10/08/98 (872), 09/09/99 (895)

The name of the multicounty air pollution control agency comprised of the activated or inactivated
air pollution control authorities of King County, Kitsap County, Pierce County, Snohomish
County, and such other counties whose air pollution control authorities may now or later merge
with this multicounty authority shall be known and cited as the "Puget Sound Clean Air Agency"
or "Agency".

State effective: 11/01/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 1.05 SHORT TITLE Adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 09/09/99 (895)
This Regulation may be known and cited as "Regulation I of the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency"

State effective: 11/01/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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SECTION 1.07 DEFINITION Adopted 03/13/68 (12)

Revised 07/08/70 (126), 11/10/71 (135), 04/12/72 (141), 05/10/72 (142), 06/13/73 (194), 03/18/76 (361), 03/13/80 (461), 10/13/83 (547),
05/10/84 (556), 02/13/86 (597), 11/12/87 (616), 06/09/88 (621), 11/10/88 (634), 12/08/88 (636), 01/12/89 (639), 08/10/89 (644),
06/13/91 (700), 01/09/92 (716), 11/19/92 (738), 04/14/94 (784)

When used herein:

()

(b)

(©)

(d)
(€)

(f)

(9)

(h)

ACCEPTABLE SOURCE IMPACT LEVEL (ASIL) means a concentration of a toxic
air contaminant in the outdoor atmosphere in any area that does not have restricted or
controlled public access that is used to evaluate the air quality impacts of a single source.
There are three types of acceptable source impact levels: risk-based, threshold-based, and
special. Concentrations for these three types of ASILs are established by the Board after
public hearing and are listed in Appendix A of Regulation III.

ACTUAL EMISSIONS means the average rate at which the source actually emitted air
contaminants during the 2-year period preceding a specific date, and which is
representative of normal source operations. To account for unusual circumstances such as
strikes, the Control Officer may approve or require the use of another time period that is
more representative of normal operations than is the immediately preceding 2-year period.

ADEQUATE SOURCE OF HEAT means the ability to maintain 70°F at a point 3 feet
above the floor in all normally inhabited areas of a dwelling.

AGENCY means the Puget Sound Air Pollution Control Agency.

AIR CONTAMINANT means dust, fumes, mist, smoke, other particulate matter, vapor,
gas, odorous substance, or any combination thereof.

AIR POLLUTION means the presence in the outdoor atmosphere of one or more air
contaminants in sufficient quantities and of such characteristics and duration as is, or is
likely to be, injurious to human health, plant or animal life, or property, or which
unreasonably interferes with enjoyment of life and property.

AIR POLLUTION EPISODE means a period when a forecast, alert, warning, or
emergency air pollution stage is declared by the Department of Ecology pursuant to RCW
70.94.715.

ALLOWABLE EMISSIONS means the emission rate calculated using the maximum
rated capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to a federally enforceable permit
that limits the operating rate, or hours of operation, or both) and the most stringent of the
following:

(1) Any applicable standard under 40 CFR Parts 60,61, and 63;
(2) Any applicable emission standard under Regulation I, II, or III;

3) Any applicable State Implementation Plan emission standard, including those with
a future compliance date; or

4) Any applicable emission standard specified in an Order of Approval or operating
permit, including those with a future compliance date.
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AMBIENT AIR means the portion of the atmosphere, external to buildings, to which the
general public has access.

AMBIENT AIR QUALITY STANDARD means an established concentration, exposure
time, and frequency of occurrence of an air contaminant in the ambient air that shall not be
exceeded.

BEST AVAILABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY means technology that will result
in an emission standard, including a visible emission standard, based on the maximum
degree of reduction which the Agency, on a case-by-case basis, taking into account energy,
environmental, and economic impacts, and other costs, determines is achievable for such
source through application of production processes, available methods, systems, and
techniques, including fuel cleaning or treatment, clean fuels, or innovative fuel combustion
techniques for control of each air contaminant. In no event shall application of the best
available control technology result in emissions of any air contaminant that would exceed
the emissions allowed by an applicable standard under 40 CFR parts 60, 61, and 63. The
Agency may prescribe a design, equipment, work practice, or operational standard, or
combination thereof, to meet the requirements of best available control technology. Such
standard shall, to the degree possible, set forth the emission reduction achievable by
implementation of such design, equipment, work practice, or operation and shall provide
for compliance by means that achieve equivalent results.

BOARD means the Board of Directors of the Puget Sound Air Pollution Control Agency.

COMMENCED CONSTRUCTION means that the owner or operator has all the
necessary preconstruction approvals or permits and either has begun, or has caused to
begin, a continuous program of actual on-site construction of the source or has entered into
binding agreements or contractual obligations to undertake construction of the source
which cannot be canceled or modified without substantial loss to the owner or operator.

COMBUSTIBLE REFUSE means solid or liquid combustible waste material.

CONTROL EQUIPMENT means any device which prevents or controls the emission of
any air contaminant.

CONTROL OFFICER means the Air Pollution Control Officer of the Puget Sound Air
Pollution Control Agency.

EMISSION means a direct or indirect release of any air contaminant into the ambient air.

EMISSION STANDARD means a requirement that limits the quantity, rate, or
concentration of emissions of air contaminants on a continuous basis including any
requirement relating to the operation or maintenance of a source to assure continuous
emission reduction, and any design, equipment, work practice, or operational standard.

EQUIPMENT means any stationary or portable device or any part thereof that emits or
may emit any air contaminant into the atmosphere.

FACILITY means the sum total of all of the pollutant emitting activities that belong to the
same industrial grouping (as defined by major groups in the Standard Industrial
Classification Manual, NTIS Order No. PB §7-100012), are located on one or more
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contiguous or adjacent properties, and are owned or operated by the same person or
persons under common control.

FIRST STAGE OF IMPAIRED AIR QUALITY means a condition declared by the
Control Officer when particulates 10 microns and smaller in diameter are at an ambient
level of 75 micrograms per cubic meter measured on a 24-hour average or when carbon
monoxide is at an ambient level of 8 parts of contaminant per million parts of air by volume
measured on an 8-hour average.

FUEL BURNING EQUIPMENT means equipment that produces hot air, hot water,
steam, or other heated fluids by external combustion of fuel.

FUGITIVE DUST means particulate matter or any visible air contaminant other than
uncombined water that is not collected by a capture system and emitted from a stack, but is
released to the atmosphere at the point of generation.

FUGITIVE EMISSION means an emission that does not pass and that could not
reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, or other functionally equivalent opening.

GASOLINE means a volatile organic compound having a true vapor pressure greater
than 1.5 pounds per square inch at 68°F, that is a liquid at standard conditions, and is used
as a fuel for internal combustion engines.

GASOLINE STATION means any site dispensing gasoline into fuel tanks of motor
vehicles, marine vessels, or aircraft from stationary storage tanks.

INCINERATOR means a furnace for the destruction of waste.

INSTALLATION means the placement, assemblage, or construction of equipment or
control equipment at the premises where the equipment or control equipment will be used,
and includes all preparatory work at such premises.

LOWEST ACHIEVABLE EMISSION RATE means that rate of emissions that reflects
either the most stringent emission standard that is contained in the implementation plan of
any state for such lass or category of source unless the owner or operator of the proposed
source demonstrates that such emission standards are not achievable, or the most stringent
emission standard that is achieved in practice by such class or category of source,
whichever is more stringent.

MAJOR MODIFICATION means a modification of a major source that would increase
the actual emissions of any air contaminant for which the area is designated non-attainment
by more than the following:

AIR CONTAMINANT TONS/YEAR
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Carbon Monoxide 100.0
Volatile Organic Compounds 40.0
Nitrogen Oxides 40.0
PM-10 15.0
Sulfur Dioxide 40.0
Lead 0.6

In determining whether the thresholds defining a major modification have been exceeded, the
emissions permitted under Orders of Approval issued to the facility since the designation of
non-attainment that were not major modifications, and all fugitive emission increases that can be
reasonably quantified shall be included. Any emission reduction credits banked by the facility
since the designation of nonattainment may be subtracted from this amount provided that any
credits so applied are then considered to have been used. For modifications of an individual piece
of equipment, the baseline shall be the source’s actual emissions or allowable emissions,
whichever is smaller. (Note: volatile organic compounds and nitrogen oxides are the air
contaminants for which an area is designated nonattainment for ozone)

(ee)

(ff)

(99)

MAJOR SOURCE means a facility that emits or has the potential to emit 100 tons per
year or more of any air contaminant subject to regulation under the federal Clean Air Act.
In determining whether the threshold defining a major source has been exceeded all
fugitive emissions that can be reasonably quantified shall be included. Any emission
reduction credits banked by the facility may be subtracted from this amount provided that
any credits so applied are then considered to have been used.

MODIFICATION means any physical change in, or change in the method of operation of,
a source, except an increase in the hours of operation or production rates (not otherwise
prohibited) or the use of an alternative fuel or raw material that the source is approved to
use under an Order of Approval or operating permit, that increases the amount of any air
contaminant emitted or that results in the emission of any air contaminant not previously
emitted.

MOTOR VEHICLE means any operating vehicle or one capable of being operated that
has its own self-contained sources of motive power, is designed for the transportation of
people or property, and is of the type for which a license is required for operation on a
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highway.

MULTIPLE CHAMBER INCINERATOR means a furnace for the destruction of waste
consisting of three or more refractory-lined combustion chambers in series, physically
separated by refractory walls, interconnected by gas passage ports or ducts, and employing
adequate design parameters necessary for maximum combustion of the material to be
burned.

NONATTAINMENT AREA means a geographic area designated by the United States
Environmental Protection Agency that violates a primary or secondary national ambient air
quality standard.

OUTDOOR FIRE means the combustion of material in the open or in a container with no
provision for control of such combustion or the control of the emissions of the combustion
products.

OWNER OR OPERATOR means the person who owns, leases, supervises, or operates
the equipment or control equipment.

PARTICULATE MATTER means any material, except water in an uncombined form,
that is, has been, or is likely to become airborne and exists as a liquid or a solid at standard
conditions.

PERSON means and includes any individual, firm, public or private corporation,
association, partnership, political subdivision, municipality, or governmental agency.

PM-10 means particulate matter with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a
nominal 10 micrometers as measured by a reference method based on Appendix J of 40
CFR part 50 and designated in accordance with 40 CFR Part 53 or by an equivalent method
designated in accordance with 40 CFR Part 53.

POTENTIAL TO EMIT means the maximum capacity of a facility to emit an air
contaminant under its physical and operational design. Any physical or operational
limitation on the capacity of the facility to emit an air contaminant, including control
equipment and restrictions on the hours of operation or on the type or amount of material
combusted, stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design only if the limitation
or the effect it would have on emissions is federally enforceable.

REASONABLY AVAILABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY means the lowest
emission standard that a particular source or source category is capable of meeting by the
application of control technology that is reasonably available considering technological
and economic feasibility. Reasonably available control technology is determined on a
case-by-case basis for an individual source or source category taking into account the
impact of the source upon air quality, the availability of additional controls, the emission
reduction to be achieved by additional controls, the impact of additional controls on air
quality, and the capital and operating costs of the additional controls.

REFUSE BURNING EQUIPMENT means equipment employed to burn any solid or
liquid combustible refuse.

SEASONED WOOD means wood of any species that has been sufficiently dried so as to
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contain 20% or less moisture by weight.

SECOND STAGE OF IMPAIRED AIR QUALITY means a condition declared by the
Control Officer when particulates 10 microns and smaller in diameter are at an ambient
level of 105 micrograms per cubic meter measured on a 24-hour average.

SOLID FUEL BURNING DEVICE means a device that burns wood, coal, or any other
nongaseous or nonliquid fuels, and includes any device burning any solid fuel used for
aesthetic or space-heating purposes in a private residence or commercial establishment,
which has a heat input less than 1 million Btu per hour.

SOURCE means a building, structure, equipment, control equipment, or facility that emits
or may emit any air contaminant into the atmosphere.

STANDARD CONDITIONS means a temperature of 68°F and a barometric pressure of
29.92 inches of mercury.

TOTAL ALLOWABLE EMISSIONS means allowable emissions, including the
emissions from all Orders of Approval issued to the facility since the designation of
nonattainment that were not major modifications, and all fugitive emissions that can be
reasonably quantified.

TOXIC AIR CONTAMINANT or TAC means an air contaminant listed in Appendix A
of Registration III.

TREATED WOOD means wood of any species that has been chemically impregnated,
painted, or similarly modified.

TRUE VAPOR PRESSURE means the equilibrium partial pressure of an organic liquid
(determined by methods described in American Petroleum Institute Bulletin 2517,
“Evaporation Loss from Floating Roof Tanks”, February 1989)

URBANIZED AREA means those portions of King, Pierce, Kitsap, and Snohomish
Countries designated as urbanized areas by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of
the Census.

VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUND or VOC means an organic compound that
participates in atmospheric photochemical reactions. This excludes all compounds
determined to have neglible photochemical reactivity by the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency and listed in 40 CFR 51.100(s)

State effective: 5/19/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 3: GENERAL PROVISIONS

SECTION 3.04 REASONABLY AVAILABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY Adopted 09/11/97
(856) Revised 03/11/99 (882)
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Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) is required for all existing sources.

RACT for each source category containing 3 or more sources shall be determined by rule,
except as provided in Section 3.04(c) of this regulation.

Source-specific RACT determinations may be performed under any of the following
circumstances:

(1) For replacement of existing control equipment under Section 6.07(c)(4) of
this regulation;

(2) When required by the federal Clean Air Act;
3) For sources in source categories containing fewer than 3 sources;

4) When an air quality problem, for which the source is a contributor, justifies a
source-specific RACT determination prior to development of a categorical RACT
rule; or

5) When a source-specific RACT determination is needed to address either specific
air quality problems, for which the source is a significant contributor, or
source-specific economic concerns.

Under any of the circumstances listed in Section 3.04(c) of this regulation, the Control
Officer or a duly authorized representative shall have the authority to perform a
source-specific RACT analysis or to order the owner or operator to perform the analysis
and submit the results to the Agency.

Where current controls are determined to be less than RACT, the Agency shall
define RACT for that source or source category and issue a rule or a regulatory
order under Section 3.03 of this regulation requiring the installation of RACT.

Emission standards and other requirements contained in rules or regulatory orders in effect
at the time of operating permit issuance shall be considered RACT for purposes of permit
issuance or renewal.

State effective: 4/17/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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SECTION 3.06 CREDIBLE EVIDENCE Adopted 10/08/98 (872)

For the purpose of establishing whether or not a person has violated or is in violation of any
provision of chapter 70.94 RCW, any rule enacted pursuant to that chapter, or any permit or order
issued thereunder, nothing in this regulation shall preclude the use, including the exclusive use, of
any credible evidence or information, relevant to whether a source would have been in compliance
with applicable requirements if the appropriate performance or compliance test procedures or
methods had been performed.

State effective: 11/14/98; EPA effective: 9/30/04

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 5: REGISTRATION

SECTION 5.02 APPLICABILITY AND PURPOSE OF THE REGISTRATION
PROGRAM as adopted: 9/12/96

(@) Program Authority and Applicability. As authorized by RCW 70.94.151, the Board,
by this regulation, classifies air contaminant sources which, in its judgment, may cause or
contribute to air pollution. This classification is made according to levels and types of
emissions and other characteristics that cause or contribute to air pollution. The Board
requires both registration and reporting for these classes of air contaminant sources. The
classifications are made for the entire area of jurisdiction of the Agency and are made with
special reference to effects on health, economic and social factors, and physical effects on

property.

(b) Program Purpose. As defined in WAC 173-400-099(1), the registration program is a
program to develop and maintain a current and accurate record of air contaminant sources.
Information collected through the registration program is used to evaluate the effectiveness
of air pollution control strategies and to verify source compliance with applicable air
pollution requirements.

(©) Registration and Reporting. Any person operating or responsible for the operation of
an air contaminant source for which registration and reporting are required, shall register
the source with the Agency. The owner or operator shall make reports to the Agency
containing information as may be required by the Agency concerning location, size, and
height of contaminant outlets, processes employed, nature of the air contaminant emission,
and such other information as is relevant to air pollution and available or reasonably
capable of being assembled.

(d)  Annual Registration Fees. The Board requires that registration be accompanied by a fee
and has determined the amount of this fee for each class of air contaminant source to be as
shown in Section 5.07. The amount of fees collected shall not exceed the costs of
administering this registration program, which shall be defined as:

(1) Initial registration and annual or other periodic reports from the source owner
providing the information directly related to air pollution registration;

(2) On-site inspections necessary to verify compliance with registration requirements;

Table 4 — Puget Sound Clean Air Agency Regulations — page 9



)

(4)

)

(6)

(7)

Data storage and retrieval systems necessary for support of the registration
program;

Emission inventory reports and emission reduction credits computed from
information provided by sources pursuant to the requirements of the registration
program;

Staff review, including engineering analysis for accuracy and currentness, of
information provided by sources pursuant to the requirements of the registration
program;

Clerical and other office support provided in direct furtherance of the registration
program; and

Administrative support provided in directly carrying out the registration program.

State effective: 11/01/96; EPA effective: 10/6/97

SECTION 5.03 REGISTRATION REQUIRED Adopted 03/13/68 (12)

Revised 11/10/71 (135), 10/10/73 (214), 03/13/80 (461), 12/09/82 (530), 12/13/84 (567), 02/13/86 (597), 08/09/90 (670), 08/12/93 (760), 02/10/94
(777), 09/12/96 (838), 2/12/96 (842), 09/10/98 (870), 07/08/99 (886)

(a) The registration requirements of this article do not apply to:
(1) motor vehicles;
(2) nonroad engines or nonroad vehicles as defined in Section 216 of the federal Clean
Air Act;
3) sources that require an operating permit under Article 7;
4) spray-coating operations exempt under Section 9.16(b) of this regulation; or

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of any source required to
register under Section 5.03, unless it conforms to all the requirements of Article 5. Except
as provided in Section 5.03(a), the owner or operator of each of the following stationary air
contaminant sources shall register the source with the Agency by paying the annual fee
required by Section 5.07 and submitting any reports required by Section 5.05.

(1)

Any category of stationary sources to which a federal standard of performance
(NSPS) under 40 CFR Part 60, other than Subpart S (Primary Aluminum Reduction
Plants), BB (Kraft Pulp Mills), or AAA (New Residential Wood Heaters), applies;
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)

3)

4

)

(6)

(7

Any source category subject to the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants (NESHAP) under 40 CFR Part 61, other than Subpart M (asbestos on
roadways, asbestos demolition or renovation activities, or asbestos spraying), or 40
CFR Part 63;

Any source that emits any of the following pollutants at a rate of emission equal to
or greater than any one of the following rates (tons/year):

carbon monoxide 25
nitrogen oxides 25
sulfur dioxide 25
particulate matter (PM10) 25
particulate matter (PM2.5) 25
volatile organic compounds (VOC) 25
facility-combined total of all toxic air contaminants (TAC) 6
any single toxic air contaminant (TAC) 2

Any source that has equipment or control equipment, with an approved Notice of
Construction under Article 6 of Regulation [;

Any source that has been determined through review by the Control Officer to
warrant registration, due to the amount and nature of air contaminants produced, or
the potential to contribute to air pollution, with special reference to effects on
health, economic and social factors, and physical effects on property;

Any source that has elected to opt out of the operating permit program by limiting
its potential-to-emit (synthetic minor) or is required to report periodically to
demonstrate nonapplicability to EPA requirements under Sections 111 or 112 of
the federal Clean Air Act;

Other sources, such as:

aerosol can-filling facilities;

agricultural chemical facilities engaging in the manufacturing of liquid or
dry fertilizers or pesticides;

agricultural drying and dehydrating operations;

alumina processing;

ammonium sulfate manufacturing plants;

asphalt and asphalt products production facilities;

automobile or light-duty truck surface coating operations;

baker’s yeast manufacturing;

brick and clay manufacturing plants, including tiles and ceramics;
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cattle feedlots with operational facilities that have an inventory of 1,000 or more
cattle in operation between June 1 and October 1, where vegetation forage growth
is not sustained over the majority of the lot during the normal growing season;

chemical manufacturing plants;
coal preparation plants;
coffee roasting facilities;

composting operations, including commercial, industrial and municipal, but
exempting agricultural and residential composting activities;

concrete product manufacturers and ready-mix and premix concrete plants;
crematoria or animal carcass incinerators;

dry cleaning plants;

ethylene dichloride, polyvinyl chloride, or vinyl chloride plants;
explosives production;

flexible polyurethane foam production;

flexible vinyl and urethane coating and printing operations;

gasoline stations, bulk gasoline plants, and gasoline loading terminals;

gelcoat, polyester, resin, or vinylester coating manufacturing operations at
commercial or industrial facilities;

glass manufacturing plants;

grain, seed, animal feed, legume, and flour processing operations and handling
facilities;

hazardous waste treatment and disposal facilities;

ink manufacturers;

insulation fiber manufacturers;

landfills, active and inactive, including covers, gas collection systems, or flares;
lead-acid battery manufacturing plants;

lime manufacturing plants;

metal casting facilities and foundries, ferrous and nonferrous;

metal plating and anodizing operations;

metallic and nonmetallic mineral processing plants, including rock crushing plants
and sand and gravel operations;

metallurgical processing plants;

Table 4 — Puget Sound Clean Air Agency Regulations — page 12



mills such as lumber, plywood, shake, shingle, woodchip, veneer operations, dry
kilns, pulpwood insulating board, or any combination thereof;

mineral wool production;

mineralogical processing plants;

municipal waste combustors;

nitric acid plants;

paper manufacturers, except Kraft and sulfite pulp mills;
petroleum refineries;

pharmaceuticals production;

plastics and fiberglass product fabrication facilities;

pneumatic materials conveying operations and industrial house-keeping
vacuuming systems that exhaust more than 1,000 acfm to the atmosphere;

portland cement plants;

primary copper smelters, lead smelters, magnesium refining and zinc smelters, but
excluding primary aluminum plants;

rendering plants;
semiconductor manufacturing;
shipbuilding and ship repair (surface coating);

soil vapor extraction (active), thermal soil contaminant desorption, or groundwater
air stripping remediation projects;

sulfuric acid plants;
surface-coating manufacturers;

surface spray-coating operations, including automotive, metal, cans,
pressure-sensitive tape, labels, coils, wood, plastic, rubber, glass, paper, and other
substrates;

synthetic fiber production facilities;

synthetic organic chemical manufacturing industries;
tire recapping facilities;

vegetable oil production;

wastewater treatment plants; or

wood treatment.
State effective: 8/13/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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SECTION 5.05 GENERAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION
dopted 03/13/68 (12
geviztedll/loﬂl ((135)), 12/09/82 (530), 06/09/88 (621), 10/12/89 (653), 08/09/90 (670), 09/12/96 (838), 09/11/97 (856), 09/10/98 (870)

(a) General. The owner or operator of an air contaminant source for which registration is
required by Section 5.03, shall make reports containing information as required by the
Agency concerning location, size, and height of contaminant outlets, processes employed,
nature and quantity of the air contaminant emission, and such other information as is
relevant to air pollution and available or reasonably capable of being assembled.

(b) Registration Form. Registration information shall be provided on forms supplied by the
Agency and shall be completed and returned within the time specified on the form.

() Reporting Responsibility. The owner, operator, or a designated representative shall sign
Agency registration and reporting forms for each source. The owner or operator of the
source shall be responsible for notifying the Agency of the existence of the source, and for
the accuracy, completeness, and timely submittal of registration reporting information and
any accompanying fee.

(d) Emission Reporting. An emission report shall be required from the owner or operator of
a source requiring registration, listing those air contaminants emitted during the previous
calendar year that equal or exceed the following (tons/year):

carbon monoxide (CO) emissions 25
facility combined total of all toxic air contaminant(TAC) emissions 6
any single toxic air contaminant (TAC) emissions 2
nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions 25
particulate matter (PM10) emissions 25
particulate matter (PM2.5) emissions 25
sulfur oxide (SOx) emissions 25
volatile organic compounds (VOC) emissions 25

Annual emission rates shall be reported to the nearest whole tons per year for only those air
contaminants that equal or exceed the thresholds above.

(e) Operation and Maintenance Plan. Owners or operators of air contaminant sources
subject to Section 5.03 above shall develop and implement an operation and maintenance
plan to assure continuous compliance with Regulations I, II, and III. A copy of the plan
shall be filed with the Control Officer upon request. The plan shall reflect good industrial
practice and shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

(1) Periodic inspection of all equipment and control equipment;
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(2

(2) Monitoring and recording of equipment and control equipment performance;
3) Prompt repair of any defective equipment or control equipment;
4) Procedures for start up, shut down, and normal operation;

(%) The control measures to be employed to assure compliance with Section 9.15 of
Regulation I; and

(6) A record of all actions required by the plan.

The plan shall be reviewed by the source owner or operator at least annually and updated to
reflect any changes in good industrial practice.

Report of Closure. Continued payment of the annual registration fee to the Agency
maintains the registration of the source with the Agency, as well as the status of the source
as an operating facility. A source shall only be removed from the registration program
after a written request has been received from the owner or operator of the source. It shall
be unlawful for any person to operate a source that has been removed from registration,
unless the owner or operator has submitted and received an approval for a “Notice of
Construction and Application for Approval”, in compliance with Article 6.

Report of Change of Ownership. A new owner of a source shall report in writing any
change of ownership to the Agency within 90 days of such a change.

State effective: 11/01/98; EPA effective: 9/30/04

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 6: NEW SOURCE REVIEW

SECTION 6.03 NOTICE OF CONSTRUCTION Adopted 03/13/68 (12)

Revised 11/10/71 (135), 11/21/74 (285), 03/13/80 (461), 12/09/82 (531), 02/13/86 (597), 11/19/92 (738), 09/12/96 (838)

(2)

(b)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the construction, installation,
establishment, or modification of an air contaminant source, except those sources that are
excluded in Section 6.03(b), unless a “Notice of Construction and Application for
Approval” has been filed with and approved by the Agency.

Except when part of a new major source or major modification in a nonattainment area, the
following air contaminant sources do not needa “Notice of Construction and Application
for Approval” approved by the Agency prior to construction, installation, establishment, or
modification:

(1) Ventilating systems, including fume hoods, not designed to prevent or reduce air
contaminant emissions.

(2) Fuel burning equipment that has a maximum input rate of:
(A)  less than 0.5 million Btu per hour (0.15 million joules per second) burning

waste derived fuel; or
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3)
4

)
(6)
(7
®)

©)

(10)
(11)
(12)
(13)
(14)

(15)
(16)

(17)

(B)  less than 10 million Btu per hour (3 million joules per second) burning
natural gas, propane, or butane; or

(C)  less than 1 million Btu per hour (0.3 million joules per second) burning any
other fuel.

Insecticide, pesticide, or fertilizer spray equipment.

Internal combustion engines less than the size thresholds of the proposed United
States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) New Source Performance
Standards (NSPS) 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart FF (Stationary Internal Combustion
Engines, 44 FR 43152 7/23/79) or the promulgated EPA NSPS 40 CFR Part 60
Subpart GG (Stationary Gas Turbines).

Laboratory equipment used exclusively for chemical or physical analyses.
Laundry dryers without control equipment.
Dryers or ovens used solely to accelerate evaporation.

Routing, turning, carving, cutting, and drilling equipment used for metal, wood,
plastics, rubber, leather, or ceramics which does not release air contaminants to the
ambient air.

Storage tanks:
(A)  that do not store substances capable of emitting air contaminants; or

(B)  with a rated capacity of 1,000 gallons (3,780 liters) or less used for storage
of gasoline; or

(C)  with a rated capacity of less than 10,000 gallons (38,000 liters) used for
storage of volatile organic compounds; or

(D)  with a rated capacity of less than 40,000 gallons (150,000 liters) used for
storage of volatile organic compounds with a true vapor pressure less than
0.01 kPa (0.002 psia).

Sanitary or storm drainage systems.

Welding, brazing, or soldering equipment.

Asphalt roofing and laying equipment (Not including manufacturing or storage)
Restaurants and other retail food-preparing establishments.

Cold solvent cleaners using a solvent with a true vapor pressure less than or equal to
4.2 kPa (0.06 psia)

Retail printing operations (not including web presses).

Spray painting or blasting equipment used at a temporary location to clean or paint
bridges, water towers, buildings, or similar structures.

Any source that has been determined through review by the Control Officer not to
warrant a “Notice of Construction and Application for Approval”, due to the
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minimal amount and nature of air contaminants produced and potential to
contribute to air pollution, with special reference to effects on health, economic and
social factors, and physical effects on property. The owner or operator shall
submit to the Control Officer, the information necessary to make this
determination. The Control Officer shall notify the owner or operator in writing
whether a “Notice of Construction and Application for Approval” is required for
the source.

() Each Notice of Construction and Application for Approval shall be submitted on forms
provided by the Agency and shall be accompanied by a set of plans that fully describes the
proposed source, the means for prevention or control of the emissions or air contaminants,
the appropriate fee as required by Section 6.04, and any additional information required by
the Board or Control Officer to demonstrate that the proposed source will meet the
requirements of Section 6.07.

(d) Within 30 days of receipt of a Notice of Construction and Application for Approval, the
Agency shall notify the applicant in writing if any additional information is necessary to
complete the application.

State effective: 11/01/96 EPA effective: 10/6/97

SECTION 6.04 NOTICE OF CONSTRUCTION REVIEW FEES Adopted 10/10/73 (214)
Revised 12/12/73 (218), 11/21/74 (285), 03/13/80 (461), 02/13/86 (597), 06/09/88 (621), 05/11/89 (643), 11/14/91 (710), 09/10/92 (734), 11/19/92

(738), 07/08/93 (756), 10/28/93 (765), 09/12/96 (839), 12/12/96 (842), 09/11/97 (856),
A Notice of Construction and Application for Approval is incomplete until the Agency has
received a fee as shown below:

General (not classified below) for each Piece of Equipment

O CoNtrol EQUIPIMENT ....c.eoiviiiiieieiieciececeteee ettt ettt ettt e eeeae v eanas $500
MINOT NOC CRANEE.......ocuiiviiiiiiiciecieete ettt ettt ettt ae e b ebesbeebeeaeeseessessensessesseesas $500
NOC Applicability Determination.............cccecueerureieirieriieeeee e cee et eere e ere e eeve s $200
Relocation of Previously Permitted Portable Source to a New

Address, except soil thermal desorption UNItS............ccveeeeeeiierieeiiienieeieesie e eeeee e $500
Asphalt Concrete PLant.........c..cooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiicee et $1,000
COTTEE ROASIET ...t et e e e e e e e e e et e e e e e e e eeeaaeeseeeaeeeeas $1,000
Composting FACIIILY ...cc.eevuiiiiiiiiieiinteee e $2,500
Dry Cleaner (Per MACKINE) .......c.ceoiiiiiiiiiiiiieeie ettt ettt e beessaeeseeseae e $300
GASOIINE STATION ..utiiiiieiie ettt ettt et e et et e et e st e eateesaeeenbeesaeeenneas $500
Landfill Gas SYSTEIM .....cc.eeiieuiiiiieiicieeieeie ettt ettt b e s e reebe s e sasesaeesseeseas $2,500

Refuse Burning Equipment: (rated capacity)

12 tONS PEI AAY OF 1ESS....uviuviiieiierietietieteteet ettt ettt ettt ettt e te s e s e s e eseeseeteeseeseeseas $5,000
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greater than 12 tons per day but less than 250 tons per day .........ccceveeeciienieeciieneennne. $20,000

250 tONS PET dAY OF GIEALET....cccuvieeriiieeiiieeiieeeiteeeitteeestreeetteeereeessreeessseeessseesssseesnsseeennes $50,000
Spray-Painting Operation (Per bOOth) ..........cccoviiiiiiiiiieiiieie e $500
Storage Tanks excluding those at gasoline stations: (gallons)
1€S5S than 20,000 ......ooevieeeeee ettt e e e e e et e e et e e e e e aaeas $300
20,000 OF INOTE ...t ettt e e et e e e e et e e e eateeeeateeseaaeessaeesnsaeesaaeessnseesaneeesnes $1,000
Soil Thermal Desorption Unit (initial) ........c..cceeeeieieieiieieeiecieeeee e $3,000
Relocation of Approved Desorption Unit to New Address.........ccceeeeveeecieeeniiieeniveeenieenns $1,000
Additional Charges:
SEPA Threshold Determination.........  .ococceeievierierierieniececeeeeeeeee e $250
Air Toxics Review (under Regulation III, Section 2.07(c)(2)) «cvvervveevveerverveenneens $500
Air Toxics Review (under Regulation III, Section 2.07(¢)(3)) «covvveeveeerreeennnn. $5,000

Major Source, Major Modification, or Emission Increases
greater than Prevention of Significant Deterioration
Thresholds (see Regulation I, Section 6.07(d))......ccccveevvieniiinieniieiierieeieeee $5,000
Opacity/Grain Loading Correlation (see Regulation I, Section 9.09(c))............ $5,000
Emissions Units Subject to an NSPS or NESHAP

(except residential wood heaters, asbestos renovation or

demolition, and perchloroethylene dry cleaning) ...........cccccceveveennnennnen. $1,000
Public Notice (plus publication fEeS) ........ccceevvueieriieeiiieeieeeee e $500

State effective: 11/01/97; EPA effective: 6/22/98

SECTION 6.06 PUBLIC NOTICE asadopted: 4/14/94

(a)

The Agency shall provide public notice for any proposed Order of Approval if:

(1) The proposed installation or modification would increase the emissions of any air
contaminant by more than the following:

Air Contaminant Tons/Year
Carbon MonoxXide.........ooeeeeeueeeeeeeeeeeeeieeaaannn. 100.0
VO C e 40.0
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(b)

(©)

(d)
(e)

()

PMI0.ciiiiieieeeeeeeee et 15.0
Sulfur DioXide......cccoevverieneiieniiienieeeienne 40.0
Lead. ..o 0.6
FIuorides.......cooeeierieniiiinieccicccce e 3.0
Sulfuric Acid.......coveeriiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeee, 7.0
Total Reduced Sulfur.........ccocoeveiiiniininninnens 10.0

(2) The applicant requests a limit on the potential to emit;

3) The applicant requests to bank emission reduction credits;

(4) The applicant requests approval of a risk analysis;

(5) The proposed installation or modification involves refuse burning equipment; or

(6) The Control Officer determines that there may be substantial public interest in the
proposal.

Public notice shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the area of the
proposed project and shall include the following:

(1) The name and address of the owner or operator and the facility;
(2) A brief description of the proposal;

3) The locations at which copies of the preliminary determination and a summary of
information considered in making such preliminary determination are available for
public inspection;

4) The deadline for submitting written comment; and

(%) That a public hearing may be held if the Agency determines within a 30-day period
that significant public interest exists.

Notice shall also be sent to the U.S. Environment Protection Agency Regional
Administrator.

The cost of providing public notice shall be borne by the applicant.

The Agency shall not make a final decision on any application until the public comment
period has ended and any comments received have been considered. Unless a public
hearing is held, the public comment period shall be the 30-day period for written comment
published as provided above. Ifa public hearing is held, the public comment period shall
extend through the hearing date.

The applicant, any interested governmental entity, any group, or any person may request a
public hearing within the 30-day period published as provided above. Any such request
shall indicate the interest of the entity filing it and why a hearing is warranted. The
Agency may, at its discretion, hold a public hearing if it determines significant public
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interest exists. Any such hearing shall be held upon such notice and at a time and place as
the Agency deems reasonable. The Agency shall provide at least 30 days prior notice of
any hearing.

State effective: 5/19/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 6.07 ORDER OF APPROVAL - ORDER TO PREVENT CONSTRUCTION

as adopted: 4/14/94

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

Within 60 days of receipt of a complete Notice of Construction and Application for
Approval, or as promptly as possible after the close of the public comment period if subject
to the public notice requirements of Section 6.06 of this Regulation, the Board or Control
Officer shall issue an Order of Approval or an Order to Prevent Construction. A person
seeking approval to construct or modify a source that requires an operating permit may
elect to integrate review of the operating permit application or amendment required by
Article 7 of this Regulation provided that any such application shall be processed in
accordance with the operating permit program procedures and deadlines.

An Order of Approval may provide such conditions of operation as are reasonably
necessary to assure compliance with all applicable emission standards.

No Order of Approval shall be issued unless the Notice of Construction and Application
for approval demonstrates to the Board or Control Officer that:

(1) The operation of the source at the location proposed will not cause or contribute to
a violation of an ambient air quality standard,

(2) The source will meet the requirements of all applicable emission standards;

3) Best available control technology is employed for the installation of new sources
and the modification of existing sources; and

4) Reasonably available control technology is employed for the replacement of
existing control equipment.

No Order of Approval shall be issued for a new major source or major modification in a
onattainment area unless the Notice of Construction and Application for Approval also
demonstrates to the Board or Control Officer that:

(1) For those air contaminants for which the area is designated nonattainment, lowest
achievable emission rate is employed for each new source at a new major source,
and each new or modified source involved in a major modification;

(2) All existing major sources owned or operated by the applicant in the state of
Washington are in compliance with all applicable emission standards under the
federal Clean Air Act or are on an approved compliance schedule;
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(e)

®

(2

3) Offsets in the form of emission reduction credits (banked pursuant to Section 6.08
of this Regulation) in an amount greater than or equal to 1.10 times the proposed
total allowable emissions from the new major source, or the increase from current
actual emissions to the proposed total allowable emissions for a major
modification, have been obtained from sources in the same nonattainment area and
occur by the time the new major source or major modification begins operation;
and

(4) The benefits of the proposed new major source or major modification significantly
outweigh the environmental and social costs imposed as a result of its location,
installation, or modification. (This demonstration, which shall include an analysis
of alternative sites, sizes, production processes, and environmental control
techniques, may be in the form of an environmental impact statement prepared
under the State Environmental Policy Act or the National Environmental Policy
Act.)

No Order of Approval shall be issued for a new or modified source of toxic air
contaminants, except for sources exempted by Section 2.01 of Regulation III, unless the
Notice of Construction and Application for Approval demonstrates to the Board or Control
Officer that:

(1) The toxic air contaminant emissions from the source will not result in the
exceedance of any acceptable source impact level listed in Appendix A of
Regulation III; or

(2) The emissions from the source will not cause air pollution. This demonstration
shall be performed in accordance with the Agency “Guidelines for Evaluating
Sources of Toxic Air Contaminants” and requires approval from the Department of
Ecology.

An Order of Approval shall expire unless the owner or operator has commenced
construction of the source within 18 months of the date of its issuance or if construction is
discontinued for a period of more than 18 months.

An Order to Prevent Construction shall set forth the objections in detail with references to
the provisions of this Regulation that would not be met. Such Order shall become final
unless, no later than 15 days after the date the Order is served, the applicant petitions for a
reconsideration of the Order, with reasons for the reconsideration. The Control Officer
shall consider the petition, and shall within 30 days give written Order of Approval or final
disapproval of the Notice of Construction setting forth the reasons for disapproval.

State effective: 5/19/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95
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SECTION 6.08 EMISSION REDUCTION CREDIT BANKING as adopted: 11/19/92

(a) Banking of emission reductions in ton per year increments that result from improved
process or control techniques, source shutdowns, or curtailments shall be allowed by
written permission of the Board or Control Officer if formally requested within 180 days of
the issuance of an Order of Approval or other action taken to effect an emission reduction.
A fee of $50 per ton shall be paid upon the filing of a request to bank emission reduction
credits.

(b) The baseline from which to calculate an emission reduction credit shall be the source's
actual emissions, or allowable emissions, whichever is smaller.

(©) Permission to bank shall constitute receipt of legal title to an emission reduction credit
within the provisions of this section. The sale or transfer of emission reduction credits is
allowed provided prior approval is granted by the Board or Control Officer, based solely on
a certification of valid title to the credits. A request to sell or transfer emission reduction
credits must be notarized by the applicant and signed by all parties to the transaction.

(d) The Board or Control Officer shall establish conditions for each emission reduction credit
as needed to ensure the permanence and federal enforceability of the reduction. The
conditions shall be listed in a Certificate of Title issued by the Board or Control Officer.
No credits shall be used if any of the conditions are being violated. Sale or transfer of the
credits shall not relieve the owner of the source which created the credits from any of the
conditions. If, after credits are sold, transferred, or used, the conditions are violated and
this results in an emission increase, the Board or Control Officer may require the owner of
the source which created the credits to replace that amount of credit through additional
emission reductions or the purchase or use of emission reduction credits already banked.

(e) Emission reduction credits must be committed for use pursuant to Section 6.07(d) within a
period of 5 years.

§)) If reductions in emissions beyond those already identified in the State Implementation Plan
are required to attain a national ambient air quality standard, and the standard cannot be
met through controls on operating sources, emission reduction credits for that pollutant
may be discounted on a temporary or permanent basis by the Board after public hearing.

State effective: 1/1/93; EPA effective: 10/28/94

SECTION 6.09 NOTICE OF COMPLETION Adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 02/13/86 (597), 11/19/92 (738), 04/14/94 (784)

Within 30 days of completion of the installation or modification of an air contaminant source
subject to the provisions of Section 6.03 of this Regulation, the owner or operator or applicant shall
file a Notice of Completion with the Agency. Each Notice of Completion shall be submitted on a
form provided by the Agency, and shall specify the date upon which operation of the source has
commenced or will commence.

State effective: 5/19/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95
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SECTION 6.10 WORK DONE WITHOUT AN APPROVAL adopted 11/12/87 (616)
Revised 07/08/93 (756), 09/11/97 (856)

Where work for which a Notice of Construction is required is commenced or performed prior to
making application and receiving approval, the Control Officer may conduct an investigation as
part of the Notice of Construction review. In such a case, an investigation fee, in addition to the
fees of Section 6.04, shall be assessed in an amount equal to 3 times the fees of Section 6.04.
Payment of the fees does not relieve any person from the requirement to comply with the
regulations nor from any penalties for failure to comply.

State effective: 11/01/97; EPA effective: 6/22/98

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 7: OPERATING PERMITS

SECTION 7.09 GENERAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATING
PERMITS Adopted 09/12/96 (839)

Revised 09/11/97 (856), 09/10/98 (870)

(a) Emission Reporting. An emission report shall be required from each owner or operator
of an operating permit source, listing those air contaminants emitted during the previous
calendar year that equal or exceed the following (tons/year):

carbon monoxide (CO) emissions 25
facility combined total of all toxic air contaminant (TAC) emissions 6
any single toxic air contaminant (TAC) emissions 2
nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions 25
particulate matter (PM10) emissions 25
particulate matter (PM2.5) emissions 25
sulfur oxide (SOx) emissions 25
volatile organic compounds (VOC) emissions 25

Annual emission rates shall be reported to the nearest whole tons per year for only those air
contaminants that equal or exceed the thresholds above. The owner or operator of a
source requiring a Title V operating permit under this Article shall maintain records of
information necessary to document any reported emissions or to demonstrate that the
emissions were less than the above amounts.

(b) Operation and Maintenance Plan. Owners or operators of air contaminant sources
subject to Regulation I Article 7 shall develop and implement an operation and
maintenance plan to assure continuous compliance with Regulations I, II, and III. A copy
of the plan shall be filed with the Control Officer upon request. The plan shall reflect
good industrial practice and shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
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(1) Periodic inspection of all equipment and control equipment;

(2) Monitoring and recording of equipment and control equipment performance;
3) Prompt repair of any defective equipment or control equipment;

(4) Procedures for start up, shut down, and normal operation;

(5) The control measures to be employed to assure compliance with Section 9.15 of
Regulation I; and

(6) A record of all actions required by the plan.

The plan shall be reviewed by the source owner or operator at least annually and updated to
reflect any changes in good industrial practice.

State effective: 11/01/98; EPA effective: 9/30/04

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 8: OUTDOOR BURNING

SECTION 8.04 GENERAL CONDITIONS FOR OUTDOOR BURNING

Adopted 03/18/76 (361)
Revised 01/12/89 (639), 04/09/92 (724), 04/14/94 (783), 10/08/98 (873), 03/11/99 (881), 11/09/00 (933)

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

The provisions of Chapter 173-425 WAC (Outdoor Burning) are herein incorporated by
reference. It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow any outdoor burning
unless the burning is in compliance with Chapter 173-425 WAC.

The provisions of Sections 9.05 and 9.15 of Regulation I shall not apply to outdoor
burning.

Nothing contained in Article 8 shall be construed to allow outdoor burning in those areas in
which outdoor burning is prohibited by laws, ordinances, or regulations of the state or any
city, county, or fire district.

Nothing contained in Article 8 shall relieve the applicant from obtaining permits required
by any state or local fire protection agency or from compliance with the Uniform Fire Code

State effective: 01/01/01; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 8.05 AGRICULTURAL BURNING Adopted 02/08/96 (825)

Revised 11/09/00 (933)

(a)

(b)

Applicability. This section applies to burning related to agricultural operations. The
definitions and requirements contained in Chapter 173-430 WAC also apply to this section.

General Requirements. Agricultural burning will be permitted if the following
requirements are met:
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(c)

(d)

(e)

(1) The natural vegetation being burned is generated from the property of the
commercial agricultural operation; and

(2) Burning is necessary for crop propagation or rotation, disease or pest control; and

3) Burning is a best management practice as established by the Agricultural Burning
Practices and Research Task Force (established in RCW 70.94.650 as referenced in WAC
173-430-050); or the burning practice is approved in writing by the Washington State
Cooperative Extension Service or the Washington State Department of Agriculture; or the
burning is conducted by a governmental entity with specific agricultural burning needs,
such as irrigation districts, drainage districts, and weed control boards.

Permit Applications. Agricultural burning permits shall be approved by the Agency
prior to burning. The permit application shall be submitted on forms provided by the
Agency and shall include:

(1) A copy of the applicant's most recent year’s Schedule F (as filed with the Internal
Revenue Service);

(2) A written review by the local fire district or fire marshal indicating their
endorsement that local requirements have been met; and

3) A non-refundable permit fee:

(A)  For burning up to 10 acres (or equivalent), the fee is $25.00 (base fee);

(B)  For burning over 10 acres, the fee is $25.00 plus $2.50 for each additional
acre.

Permit Action and Content.
(1) The Agency will act on a complete application within 7 days of receipt.

(2) All agricultural burning permits shall contain conditions that are necessary to
minimize emissions.

3) All permits shall expire 12 months from date of issuance.

Permit Denial. No permit shall be issued if the Agency determines that the proposed
burning will cause a nuisance. All denials shall become final within 15 days unless the
applicant petitions the Control Officer for reconsideration, stating the reasons for
reconsideration. The Control Officer shall then consider the petition and shall within 30
days issue a permit or notify the applicant in writing of the reason(s) for denial. (For more
information on the appeal process, see Section 3.17 of this regulation.)

State effective: 01/01/01; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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REGULATION | SECTION 8.06 OUTDOOR BURNING OZONE CONTINGENCY
MEASURE Adopted 12/19/02 (976)

(a) Applicability. This section shall apply to open burning within King, Kitsap, Pierce, and
Snohomish Counties if, in consultation with the Washington State Department of Ecology
and the Agency, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency makes a written finding that:

(1) A quality-assured violation of the national ambient air quality standard for ozone
has occurred, and

(2) Prevention of future violations can be reasonably addressed through the
implementation of this section.

The Agency shall provide public notice of this written finding no later than November 1.
This section shall take effect on July 1 following the public notice of such a written finding.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow outdoor burning within King, Kitsap,
Pierce, or Snohomish Counties during the months of July through August.

State effective: 01/23/03; EPA effective: 9/7/04

SECTION 8.09 DESCRIPTION OF THE KING COUNTY NO-BURN AREA Adopted 11/09/00
(933)

As provided by WAC 173-425-040(5), residential burning and land-clearing burning are
prohibited in the following areas of King County:

(a) The King County Urban Growth Area; and

(b) The former carbon monoxide (CO) non-attainment area (Seattle/Tacoma/Everett urban
area as defined by the Washington State Department of Transportation, 1983 version,
urban area maps).

State effective: 01/01/01; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 8.10 DESCRIPTION OF THE PIERCE COUNTY NO-BURN AREA Adopted
11/09/00 (933)

As provided by WAC 173-425-040(5), residential burning and land-clearing burning are
prohibited in the following areas of Pierce County:
(a) The Pierce County Urban Growth Area; and

(b) The former carbon monoxide (CO) non-attainment area (Seattle/Tacoma/Everett urban
area as defined by the Washington State Department of Transportation, 1983 version,
urban area maps)

State effective: 01/01/01; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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SECTION 8.11 DESCRIPTION OF THE SNOHOMISH COUNTY NO-BURN AREA

Adopted 11/09/00 (933)

As provided by WAC 173-425-040(5), residential burning and land-clearing burning are
prohibited in the following areas of Snohomish County:

(a)
(b)

The Snohomish County Urban Growth Area; and

The former carbon monoxide (CO) non-attainment area (Seattle/Tacoma/Everett urban
area as defined by the Washington State Department of Transportation, 1983 version,
urban area maps)

State effective: 01/01/01; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 8.12 DESCRIPTION OF THE KITSAP COUNTY NO-BURN AREA Adopted 11/09/00

(933) Revised 10/24/02 (981)

(a)

As provided by WAC 173-425-040(5), reasonable alternatives to burning exist in the areas
described below and residential burning and land-clearing burning are prohibited in these

arcas.

(1

)
3)

The Kingston Urban Growth Area as shown in Figure 8-1;

The City of Bainbridge Island,

The Silverdale, Bremerton, Port Orchard area as follows and as shown in Figure
8-2:

Beginning at the intersection of the line dividing T25N, R2E Sections 18 and
19, and the center line of Port Orchard Bay;

head directly west to Waaga Way;
continue west on Waaga Way to Nels Nelson Road NW;

head north following the Silverdale Urban Growth Area boundary to Island
Lake;

head east following the Silverdale Urban Growth Area boundary to Central
Valley Road;

follow Central Valley Road north to NE Anna Road and then west to Hillcrest
Street NW;

continue north on Central Valley Road to the intersection of T25, R1E, Sections
2 and 3, and T26N, R1E, Sections 34 and 35;

head directly west to NW Mountain View Road;

follow NW Mountain View Road to the point where it intersects with the
Bangor Naval Reservation boundary;
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follow the Bangor Naval Reservation boundary heading south and west to the
point where the Northern Pacific railroad track leaves the Bangor Naval
Reservation property at its southern boundary;

head south along the Northern Pacific railroad track to NW Westgate Road;
follow NW Westgate Road west to Olympic View Road NW;

head south on Olympic View Road NW to Anderson Hill Road;

head west on Anderson Hill Road to Willamette Meridian Road NW;

head south along the line dividing Township 25 North, Range 1 West and
Township 25 North, Range 1 East to the Wesley Harris Naval Reservation;

head east and south along the perimeter of the Wesley Harris Naval Reservation
to a line bisecting T25N, R1E, Section 31;

follow the line bisecting T25N, R1E, Section 31 east to the Northern Pacific
railroad track;

head south along the Northern Pacific Railroad track to a point where the track
crosses the City of Bremerton Urban Growth Area boundary at T24N, R1E
between Sections 19 and 30;

head west along the southwestern portion of the Bremerton city limits for
approximately 14 miles to a point 0.2 mile east of the intersection of T23N,
R1W, Sections 2, 3, 10, and 11;

head south to State Highway 3;

head southwest on State Highway 3 to the Mason County line;

head east to the line separating T23N, R1W, Sections 22 and 23;

head north to the intersection of T23N, R1W, Sections 14, 15, 22, and 23;
head east 1.33 miles;

head north to State Highway 3;

head west 0.42 mile;

head north to the Bremerton city limits;

head northeast along the Bremerton city limits for approximately 3.6 miles to
the intersection of T24N, R1E, Sections 31 & 32 and T23N, R1E, Sections 5 &
6;

head east another 0.33 mile;

head south to the intersection of Feigley Road SW and SW Old Clifton Road;
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(4)

head east along SW Old Clifton Road to the boundary of the McCormick
Woods Urban Growth Area;

include the entire Urban Growth Area of McCormick Woods;

at the point where the northeastern boundary of McCormick Woods Urban
Growth Area intersects SW Old Clifton Road, follow SW Old Clifton Road
northeast to the Port Orchard city boundary;

start by heading east and follow the Port Orchard city boundary to the point
where it intersects with State Highway 16 south of Sedgwick Road;

head southeast along State Highway 16 to Bethel Road SE;

head north along Bethel Road SE to the Port Orchard Urban Growth Area
boundary;

start by heading east and follow the Port Orchard Urban Growth Area boundary
to the intersection of Sedgwick Road and Phillips Road;

continue east along SE Sedgwick Road to Longlake Road SE;
head north along Longlake Road SE to the line between T24N and T23N;

head west to the intersection of T24N, R2E Sections 31 & 32 and T23N, R2E
Sections 5 & 6;

head north to SE Mile Hill Drive;

head east along SE Mile Hill Drive to Bullman Road SE;

head north 0.5 mile along and past Bullman Rd SE;

head west to SE Horstman Road and continue to Baby Doll Road SE;
head north along Baby Doll Road SE to E Collins Road;

head west on E Collins Road and then continue west to E Lindstrom Hill Road
and then to Sinclair Inlet shoreline;

head directly north to the center line of Port Orchard Bay;

follow the center line of Port Orchard Bay in a northerly direction to where it
intersects the line dividing T25N, R2E Sections 18 and 19; and

The Poulsbo area as follows and as shown in Figure 8-3:

The Poulsbo Urban Growth Area (UGA);
The following areas adjacent to the Poulsbo UGA:
(1) Southeast of Poulsbo UGA and east of State Highway 305:

® from the intersection of State Highway 305 and Noll Road NE,
proceed north on Noll Road to the Poulsbo UGA;
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(ii)

(iii)

(iv)

)

(vi)

o follow the UGA west, north, and west again until it intersects
State Highway 305;

e head south on State Highway 305 to the intersection of State
Highway 305 and Noll Road NE.

Northeast of Poulsbo UGA:

That area between the Poulsbo UGA and a line from the northwest
corner of the Poulsbo UGA nearest to the southwestern terminus of
Gala Way NE, west to the Poulsbo UGA.

North of Poulsbo UGA along State Highway 307:

from the intersection of Little Valley Road and State Highway
307, head south to the Poulsbo UGA;

¢ follow the UGA west and then north until it intersects State
Highway 307;

head south on State Highway 307 northeast to the intersection of
State Highway 307 and Little Valley Road.

North of Poulsbo UGA and east of State Highway 3:

® from the intersection of T26N, R1E, Sections 2, 3, 10, and 11
(which is the northeast corner of the Poulsbo UGA nearest the
northern terminus of Viking Avenue NE) head east 0.25 mile;

® head south 0.05 mile to the Poulsbo UGA;

® head west and then north along the Poulsbo UGA to the
intersection of T26N, R1E, Sections 2, 3, 10, and 11.

West of Poulsbo UGA:

® from the intersection of Rhododendron Lane NW and Finn Hill
Road, head south to NW Rude Road;

® head east 0.25 mile on Rude Road;
® head south 0.25 mile;
® head east to the Poulsbo UGA;

® head north and northwest along the Poulsbo UGA to the
intersection of Finn Hill Road and Rhododendron Lane.

South of Poulsbo UGA and east of State Highway 3:

¢ from the intersection of the Poulsbo UGA and Viking Way NW,
south of NW Norfinn Lane, head south 0.10 mile on Viking
Way NW;
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(b)

® head east to Liberty Bay;
® follow the shore of Liberty Bay north to the Poulsbo UGA;
¢ follow the Poulsbo UGA west to Viking Way NW.

As provided by WAC 173-425-040(5), reasonable alternatives to burning exist in the area
described below and land-clearing burning is prohibited in this area.

The Port Orchard area as follows and as shown in Figure 8-2:

Begin at the intersection of Baby Doll Road SE and SE Mile Hill Drive;

head east on Mile Hill Drive to Long Lake Road SE;

head south on Long Lake Road SE to the line between T24N and T23N;
head west to the intersection of T24N, R2E Sections 31 & 32 and T23N, R2E
Sections 5 & 6;

head north to SE Mile Hill Drive.
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Figure 8-2
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Figure 8-3
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State effective: 11/30/02; EPA effective: 9/30/04

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 9: EMISSION STANDARDS

SECTION 9.03 EMISSION OF AIR CONTAMINANT: VISUAL STANDARD

Adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 07/08/70 (126), 04/11/73 (186), 06/09/88 (621) 05/11/89 (643), 09/08/94 (798), 04/09/98 (865), 03/11/99 (881)

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the emission of any air contaminant for
a period or periods aggregating more than 3 minutes in any 1 hour, which is:

(1) Darker in shade than that designated as No. 1 (20% density) on the Ringelmann
Chart, as published by the United States Bureau of Mines; or

(2) Of such opacity as to obscure an observer's view to a degree equal to or greater than
does smoke described in Section 9.03(a)(1).

(b) The density or opacity of an air contaminant shall be measured at the point of its emission,
except when the point of emission cannot be readily observed, it may be measured at an
observable point of the plume nearest the point of emission.

(©) This section shall not apply when the presence of uncombined water is the only reason for
the failure of the emission to meet the requirements of this section.

(d) This section shall not apply to solid fuel burning devices, permitted fire training facilities,
permitted obscurant usage during military training operations, outdoor fires, motor
vehicles when operated on public roads, aircraft, or equipment subject to Section 9.04.

State effective: 4/17/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 9.04 OPACITY STANDARDS FOR EQUIPMENT WITH CONTINUOUS
OPACITY MONITORING SYSTEMS Adopted 04/09/98 (865)

(a) Applicability. This section shall apply to all equipment required to be equipped with a
continuous emission monitoring system for opacity.
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(b)

(c)

(d)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of any of the following
equipment unless equipped with a continuous emission monitoring system for opacity:

(1) Cement kilns;
(2) Clinker coolers;
3) Glass furnaces, rated at greater than 1 ton per hour, that burn fuel;

(4) Fuel burning equipment, rated at 100 million Btu per hour or greater, that burns
wood, coal, or residual oil; and

(%) Refuse burning equipment rated at greater than 12 tons per day.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the emission of any air contaminant
from any equipment subject to this section during any hour that:

(1) Averages greater than 5% opacity; or
(2) Contains any consecutive 6-minute period averaging greater than 20% opacity.

Section 9.04(c)(1) shall not apply to:

(1) Glass furnaces that are tested annually for compliance with the applicable
particulate emission standard in Section 9.09; or

(e)

This section shall not apply to sources controlled by a venturi scrubber, provided that:

(1) The source is tested annually for compliance with the applicable particulate
emission standard in Section 9.09;

(2) The pressure drop across the scrubber is continuously monitored and recorded; and

3) The scrubbing liquid flow rate and temperature are continuously monitored and
recorded.

State effective: 6/1/98; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 9.05 REFUSE BURNING adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 06/09/88 (621), 12/09/93 (769)

(a)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the burning of combustible refuse
except in a multiple chamber incinerator provided with control equipment.
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(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of refuse burning
equipment any time other than daylight hours.

State effective: 01/13/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 9.07 SULFUR DIOXIDE EMISSION STANDARD Adopted 03/13/68 (12)

Revised 07/08/70 (126), 02/21/74 (230), 02/13/86 (597), 06/09/88 (621), 04/14/94 (784)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the emission of sulfur dioxide from any source
in excess of 1,000 parts per million by volume on a dry basis, 1-hour average (corrected to 7%
oxygen for fuel burning equipment and refuse burning equipment).

State effective: 5/19/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 9.08 FUEL OIL STANDARDS Adopted 06/13/85 (579)

Revised 02/13/86 (597), 04/14/94 (784)

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the combustion of oil in fuel burning
equipment or refuse burning equipment that exceeds any of the following limits unless that
person has obtained an Order of Approval from the Agency in accordance with Section
6.07 of this Regulation:

Ash 0.1% (maximum)

Sulfur 1.0% (maximum for used oil)
Sulfur 2.00% (maximum for fuel oil)
Lead 100 ppm (maximum)

Arsenic 5 ppm (maximum)

Cadmium 2 ppm (maximum)
Chromium 10 ppm (maximum)

Total Halogens 1,000 ppm (maximum)
Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) 2 ppm (maximum)

Flash Point 100°F (minimum)

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or make available for sale any oil in excess of the
limits of this section to any person who has not obtained an Order of Approval from the
Agency in accordance with Section 6.07 of this Regulation. Any person who sells or
makes available for sale such oil shall submit a report to the Agency within 15 days of the
end of the month that includes the name and address of the recipient, the amount of oil
delivered, and the concentration of contaminants therein.

(c) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:
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(1) Ocean-going vessels;

(2) Used oil burned in space heaters that have a maximum heat output of not greater
than 0.5 million Btu per hour; and

3) Persons in the business of collecting used oil from residences when under
authorization by a city, county, or the utilities and transportation commission.

State effective: 5/19/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 9.09 PARTICULATE MATTER EMISSION STANDARDS Adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 07/08/70 (126), 11/10/71 (135), 10/10/73 (214), 02/13/86 (597), 06/09/88 (621), 05/11/89 (643), 02/10/94 (777), 04/09/98 (865)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the emission of particulate matter in excess of
the following concentrations:

Refuse Burning Equipment:

1. Rated at 12 tons per day or less
without heat recovery and without
hydrochloric acid control equipment 0.10 gr/dscf @ 7% O2

2. Rated at 12 tons per day or less
without heat recovery and with
hydrochloric acid control equipment 0.05 gr/dscf @ 7% O2

3. Rated at 12 tons per day or less
with heat recovery 0.02 gr/dscf @ 7% O2

4. Rated at greater than 12 tons per day 0.01 gr/dscf @ 7% O2

Fuel Burning Equipment:

1. Burning wood 0.20 gr/dscf @ 7% O2
2. Burning wood and installed after

March 13, 1968 or located within

the urbanized area 0.10 gr/dscf @ 7% O2
3. Burning wood, rated at 100 million Btu

per hour or greater, and located within

the urbanized area 0.04 gr/dscf @ 7% O2
4. Burning wood and installed after

March 1, 1986 0.02 gr/dscf @ 7% 02
5. Burning fuel other than wood 0.05 gr/dscf @ 7% O2
6. Burning coal or other solid fossil fuel
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and installed after March 1, 1986 0.01 gr/dscf @ 7% O2

Equipment Used in a Manufacturing Process: 0.05 gr/dscf
State effective: 6/1/98; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 9.15 FUGITIVE DUST CONTROL MEASURES adopted 03/13/68 (12)
Revised 06/09/83 (536), 06/09/88 (621), 08/10/89 (644), 03/11/99 (882)

(a)

(b)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow visible emissions of fugitive dust
unless reasonable precautions are employed to minimize the emissions. Reasonable
precautions include, but are not limited to, the following:

(1) The use of control equipment, enclosures, and wet (or chemical) suppression
techniques, as practical, and curtailment during high winds;

(2) Surfacing roadways and parking areas with asphalt, concrete, or gravel;

3) Treating temporary, low-traffic areas (e.g., construction sites) with water or
chemical stabilizers, reducing vehicle speeds, constructing pavement or rip rap exit
aprons, and cleaning vehicle undercarriages before they exit to prevent the
track-out of mud or dirt onto paved public roadways; or

4) Covering or wetting truck loads or allowing adequate freeboard to prevent the
escape of dust-bearing materials.

Compliance with the provisions of this section shall not relieve any person from the
responsibility to comply with Section 9.11 of this regulation.

State effective: 4/17/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 9.16 SPRAY COATING OPERATIONS Adopted 06/13/91 (700)

Revised 07/08/99 (886), 07/12/01 (944)

(a)

(b)

Applicability. This section applies to spray-coating operations at facilities subject to
Article 5 (Registration) or Article 7 (Operating Permits) of this regulation, where a coating
that protects or beautifies a surface is applied with spray-coating equipment.

Exemptions. The following activities are exempt from the provisions of Sections 9.16(c)
and (d) of this regulation. Persons claiming any of the following spray-coating
exemptions shall have the burden of demonstrating compliance with the claimed
exemption.

(1) Application of architectural or maintenance coatings to stationary structures (e.g.,
bridges, water towers, buildings, stationary machinery, or similar structures);

(2) Aerospace coating operations subject to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart GG. This
includes all activities and materials listed in 40 CFR 63.741(f);

3) Use of high-volume, low-pressure (HVLP) spray guns when:
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(©)

(d)

(e)

(A)  spray-coating operations do not involve motor vehicles or motor vehicle
components;

(B)  the gun cup capacity is 8 fluid ounces or less;

(C)  the spray gun is used to spray-coat less than 9 square feet per day per
facility;

(D)  coatings are purchased in containers of 1 quart or less; and

(E) spray-coating is allowed by fire department, fire marshal, or other
government agency requirements.

(4) Use of air-brush spray equipment with 0.5 to 2.0 CFM airflow and a maximum cup
capacity of 2 fluid ounces;

(%) Use of hand-held aerosol spray cans with a capacity of 1 quart or less; or

(6) Indoor application of automotive undercoating materials using organic solvents
having a flash point in excess of 100 F.

General Requirements for Indoor Spray-Coating Operations. It shall be unlawful for any
person subject to the provisions of this section to cause or allow spray-coating inside a
structure, or spray-coating of any motor vehicles or motor vehicle components, unless the
spray-coating is conducted inside an enclosed spray area. The enclosed spray area shall
employ either properly seated paint arresters, or water-wash curtains with a continuous
water curtain to control the overspray. All emissions from the spray-coating operation
shall be vented to the atmosphere through an unobstructed vertical exhaust vent.

General Requirements for Outdoor Spray-Coating Operations. It shall be unlawful for
any person subject to the provisions of this section to cause or allow spray-coating outside
an enclosed structure unless reasonable precautions are employed to minimize the
overspray. Reasonable precautions include, but are not limited to the use of:

(1) Enclosures and curtailment during high winds; and

(2) High-volume low-pressure (HVLP), low-volume low-pressure (LVLP),
electrostatic, or air-assisted airless spray equipment. Airless spray equipment may
be used where low viscosity and high solid coatings preclude the use of
higher-transfer efficiency spray equipment.

Compliance with Other Regulations. Compliance with this regulation does not exempt
any person from compliance with Regulation I, Section 9.11 and all other applicable
regulations including those of other agencies.

State effective: 9/01/01; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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SECTION 9.20 MAINTENANCE OF EQUIPMENT Adopted 12/09/82 (531)

Revised 06/09/38 (621)
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of any features, machines
or devices constituting parts of or called for by plans, specifications, or other information

submitted pursuant to Article 6 of Regulation I unless such features, machines or devices
are maintained in good working order.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of any equipment as
defined in Section 1.07 or control equipment not subject to Section 9.20(a) unless the
equipment or control equipment is maintained in good working order.

State effective: 6/9/88; EPA effective: 10/28/94

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 12: STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR
CONTINUOUS EMISSION MONITORING SYSTEMS

SECTION 12.01 APPLICABILITY Adopted 11/10/71 (135)
Revised 06/09/88 (621), 08/10/89 (644), 04/09/98 (865)

This article shall apply to all continuous emission monitoring systems (CEMS) required under an
order, operating permit, or regulation of the Agency. This article shall not be construed to relieve
any person of the responsibility to comply with any requirement of 40 CFR Part 60, 61, or 63.
Portions of these federal requirements that are less stringent than the provisions of Article 12 shall
not supercede the requirements of Article 12.

State effective: 6/1/98; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 12.03 CONTINUOUS EMISSION MONITORING SYSTEMS Adopted 06/09/88 (621)
Revised 08/10/89 (644), 04/09/98 (865), 03/25/04 (1024), 09/23/04 (1036)

(a) Continuous Monitoring. It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the
operation of any equipment required to have a continuous emission monitoring system
unless the emissions are continuously monitored in accordance with the requirements of
this section.

(b) Data Recovery. The owner or operator shall recover valid hourly monitoring data for at
least 95% of the hours that the equipment (required to be monitored) is operated during
each calendar month except for periods of monitoring system downtime, provided that the
owner or operator demonstrates that the downtime was not a result of inadequate design,
operation, or maintenance, or any other reasonably preventable condition, and any
necessary repairs to the monitoring system are conducted in a timely manner.

() Quality Assurance. The owner or operator shall install a continuous emission
monitoring system that meets the performance specification in 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix
B in effect at the time of its installation, and shall operate this monitoring system in
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(d)

(e)

®

(2

(h)

accordance with the quality assurance procedures in Appendix F of 40 CFR Part 60 in
effect as of the federal regulation reference date listed in Section 3.25 of this regulation
herein incorporated by reference, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s
“Recommended Quality Assurance Procedures for Opacity Continuous Monitoring
Systems” (EPA 340/1-86-010).

Data Recording. Monitoring data commencing on the clock hour and containing at least
45 minutes of monitoring data shall be reduced to 1-hour averages. Monitoring data for
opacity shall also be reduced to 6-minute averages. All monitoring data shall be included in
these averages except for data collected during calibration drift tests and cylinder gas
audits, and for data collected subsequent to a failed quality assurance test or audit.

Data Retention. The owner or operator shall retain all monitoring data averages for at
least 2 years, including copies of all reports submitted to the Agency and records of all
repairs, adjustments, and maintenance performed on the monitoring system. All such data
collected after October 1, 1998 shall be retained for at least 5 years.

Data Reporting. The owner or operator shall submit a monthly report to the Agency
within 30 days after the end of the month in which the data were recorded. This report shall
include:

(1) The date, time period, magnitude (in the units of the standard) and cause of each
emission that exceeded an applicable emission standard;

(2) The date and time of all actions taken to correct the problem, including any actions
taken to minimize the emissions during the exceedance and any actions taken to
prevent its recurrence;

3) The number of hours that the equipment (required to be monitored) operated each
month and the number of valid hours of monitoring data that the monitoring system
recovered each month;

(4) The date, time period, and cause of each failure to meet the data recovery
requirements of Section 12.03(b) and any actions taken to ensure adequate
collection of such data;

(5) The date, time period, and cause of each failure to recover valid hourly monitoring
data for at least 90% of the hours that the equipment (required to be monitored) was
operated each day;

(6) The results of all cylinder gas audits conducted during the month; and

(7) A certification of truth, accuracy, and completeness signed by an authorized
representative of the owner or operator.

Relative Accuracy Tests. All relative accuracy tests shall be subject to the provisions of
Section 3.07 of this regulation.

Exemptions. The data recording and reporting requirements of Sections 12.03(d) and
12.03(f) shall not apply to continuous VOC monitoring systems required under Section
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2.05 of Regulation II. Further, relative accuracy tests shall not be required of these
monitoring systems and may be waived for any other monitoring system not otherwise
subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix F, provided that the owner or operator demonstrates
to the Control Officer that the emissions are consistently below 10% of the applicable
emission standard.

State effective: 11/01/04; EPA effective: 10/17/13

REGULATION I - ARTICLE 13: SOLID FUEL BURNING DEVICE STANDARDS

SECTION 13.01 POLICY AND PURPOSE Adopted 11/10/88 (634)

Revised 09/26/91 (708), 09/09/99 (895), 10/25/12 (1258)

The Board of Directors of the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency (Board) declares it to be the public
policy of the Agency to control and reduce air pollution caused by solid fuel burning devices such
as wood stoves, pellet stoves, and fireplaces. It is the Agency's policy to educate the public about
the health effects of wood stove emissions and cleaner heating alternatives. It is the intent of this
regulation to secure and maintain levels of air quality that protect human health and to comply with
the requirements of the state and federal Clean Air Acts.

The Board encourages cities, towns and counties within its jurisdiction to enhance public
education and assist in the enforcement of this Regulation during declared air quality episodes and
periods of impaired air quality.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13

SECTION 13.02 DEFINITIONS Adopted 09/23/04 (1036)

Revised 09/22/05 (1057), 10/25/12 (1258)
When used herein:

(a) Adequate Source of Heat means a heating system designed to maintain seventy degrees
Fahrenheit at a point three feet above the floor in each normally inhabited room. If any part
of the heating system has been disconnected, damaged, or is otherwise nonfunctional, the
Agency shall base the assessment of the adequacy of the design on the system’s capability
prior to the disconnection, damage, improper maintenance, malfunction, or occurrence that
rendered the system nonfunctional.

(b) AGENCY means the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency.
(©) Certified Wood Stove means a wood stove that:

(1) has been determined by Ecology to meet Washington emission
performance standards, pursuant to RCW 70.94.457 and WAC
173-433-100; or
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(d)

(e)
(H
(2

(h)

(@)

G

(k)

(2) has been certified and labeled in accordance with procedures and criteria
specified in "40 C.F.R. 60 Subpart AAA - Standards of Performance for
Residential Wood Heaters" as amended through July 1, 1990; or

3) meets the "Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Phase 2"
emissions standards contained in Subsections (2) and (3) of Section
340-21-115, and is certified in accordance with "Oregon Administrative
Rules, Chapter 340, Division 21 - Woodstove Certification" dated
November 1984.

Coal-only heater means an enclosed, coal burning appliance capable of and intended for
residential space heating, domestic water heating, or indoor cooking and has all of the
following characteristics:

(1) An opening for emptying ash which is located near the bottom or the side of the
appliance;

(2) A system which admits air primarily up and through the fuel bed;

(3) A grate or other similar device for shaking or disturbing the fuel bed or power
driven mechanical stoker; and

(4) The model is listed by a nationally recognized safety testing laboratory for use of
coal only, except for coal ignition purposes.

Ecology means the Washington State Department of Ecology.
EPA means the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Fine particulate or PM2.5 means particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal
to a nominal 2.5 micrometers.

Fireplace means any permanently installed masonry fireplace or any factory-built metal
solid fuel burning device designed to be used with an open combustion chamber and
without features to control the air to fuel ratio.

Nonaffected pellet stove means a pellet stove that has an air-to-fuel ratio equal to or greater
than 35.0 to 1.0 when tested by an accredited laboratory in accordance with methods and
procedures specified by the EPA in "40 CFR 60 Appendix A, Test Method 28A -
Measurement of Air to Fuel Ratio and Minimum Achievable Burn Rates for Wood-Fired
Appliances" as amended through July 1, 1990.

Nonattainment area means a geographical area designated by EPA at 40 C.F.R. Part 81 as
exceeding a National Ambient Air Quality Standard for a given criteria pollutant. An area
is nonattainment only for the pollutants for which the area has been designated
nonattainment.

PM10 means particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a nominal 10
micrometers.
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)

(m)

(n)

(o)

(p)

(@

PROPERLY SEASONED FUEL WOOD means untreated wood or untreated lumber with
moisture content of 20% or less, wet basis, or 25% or less, dry basis.

Solid Fuel Burning Device or solid fuel heating device means a device that burns wood,
coal, or any other nongaseous or nonliquid fuels, and includes any device burning any solid
fuel which has a heat input less than one million British thermal units per hour. This
includes, but is not limited to, devices used for aesthetic or space-heating purposes in a
private residence or commercial establishment.

SUBSTANTIALLY REMODELED means any alteration or restoration of a building
exceeding sixty percent of the appraised value of such building within a twelve-month
period.

TACOMA, WASHINGTON Fine Particulate Nonattainment Area means the area of
Pierce County that is designated by EPA as not meeting the 2006 federal 24-hr fine
particulate National Ambient Air Quality Standard and described in 40 CFR 81.348. This
area is also known as the Tacoma, Pierce County Nonattainment Area.

Treated wood means wood or lumber of any species that has been chemically impregnated,
painted, or similarly modified to prevent weathering and deterioration.

Wood stove or wood heater means an enclosed solid fuel burning device capable of and
intended for residential space heating and domestic water heating that meets the following
criteria contained in "40 CFR 60 Subpart AAA - Standards of Performance for Residential
Wood Heaters" as amended through July 1, 1990:

(1) An air-to-fuel ratio in the combustion chamber averaging less than 35.0, as
determined by EPA Reference Method 28A;

(2) A useable firebox volume of less than twenty cubic feet;

3) A minimum burn rate less than 5 kg/hr as determined by EPA Reference Method
28; and

(4) A maximum weight of 800 kg, excluding fixtures and devices that are normally
sold separately, such as flue pipe, chimney, and masonry components not integral
to the appliance.

Any combination of parts, typically consisting of but not limited to: doors, legs, flue pipe collars,
brackets, bolts and other hardware, when manufactured for the purpose of being assembled, with
or without additional owner supplied parts, into a woodstove, is considered a woodstove.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13

SECTION 13.03 OPACITY STANDARDS Adopted 12/08/94 (808)

Renumbered 09/23/04 (1036); Revised 10/25/12 (1258)

(a)

A person shall not cause or allow emission of a smoke plume from any solid fuel burning
device to exceed an average of twenty percent opacity for six consecutive minutes in any
one-hour period.
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(b)

(c)

Test method and procedures. Methods and procedures specified by the EPA in “40 CFR 60
Appendix A reference method 9 —Visual Determinations of the Opacity of Emissions from
Stationary Sources" as amended through July 1, 1990, shall be used to determine
compliance with subsection (a) of this section.

Enforcement. Smoke visible from a chimney, flue or exhaust duct in excess of the opacity
standard shall constitute prima facie evidence of unlawful operation of a solid fuel burning
device. This presumption may be refuted by demonstration that the smoke was not caused
by a solid fuel burning device. The provisions of this section shall not apply during the
starting of a new fire for a period not to exceed twenty minutes in any four-hour period.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13

SECTION 13.04 ALLOWED AND PROHIBITED FUEL TYPES Adopted 10/25/12 (1258)

(a)

(b)

A person shall cause or allow only the following materials to be burned in a solid fuel
burning device:

(1) Properly seasoned fuel wood; or

(2) An amount of paper necessary for starting a fire; or

3) Wood pellets; or

4) Biomass fire logs intended for burning in a wood stove or fireplace; or

(5) Coal with sulfur content less than 1.0% by weight burned in a coal-only
heater.

All other materials are prohibited from being burned in a solid fuel burning device,
including, but not limited to: garbage; pallets; treated lumber; fencing; treated wood;
plastic and plastic products; rubber products; animal carcasses; asphaltic products; waste
petroleum products; paints and chemicals; paper (other than an amount necessary to start a
fire); or any substance that emits dense smoke or obnoxious odors.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13

SECTION 13.05 RESTRICTIONS ON OPERATION OF SOLID FUEL BURNING
DEVICES Adopted 10/25/12 (1258)

(a)

No person in a residence or commercial establishment shall operate a solid fuel burning
device under any of the following conditions:
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(b)

(c)

(1

)

Whenever the Agency has declared the first stage of impaired air quality for a
geographical area in accordance with RCW 70.94.473(1)(b)(1) or (ii), unless an
exemption for the residence or commercial building has been obtained from the
Agency pursuant to subsection (d) of this section or the solid fuel burning device is
one of the following:

(A) A nonaffected pellet stove; or

(B) A wood stove certified and labeled by the EPA under "40 CFR 60 Subpart
AAA - Standards of Performance for Residential Wood Heaters" as
amended through July 1, 1990; or

(C) A wood stove meeting the “Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Phase 2”” emission standards contained in Subsections (2) and (3) of Section
340-21-115, and certified in accordance with “Oregon Administrative
Rules, Chapter 340, Division 21 — Woodstove Certification” dated
November 1984; or

(D) A solid fuel burning device approved by Ecology as meeting the standards
in RCW 70.94.457(1)(a)-(b).

Whenever the Agency has declared the second stage of impaired air quality for a
geographical area in accordance with RCW 70.94.473(1)(c)(1), (ii), or (iii) unless
an exemption for the residence or commercial building has been obtained from the
Agency pursuant to subsection (d) of this section.

Whenever a first stage of impaired air quality is declared under subsection (a)(1):

(1)

2)

New solid fuel shall be withheld from any solid fuel burning device already in
operation for the duration of the first stage of impaired air quality if that device is
restricted from operating under subsection (a)(1) of this section during the first
stage of impaired air quality;

Smoke visible from a chimney, flue, or exhaust duct after three hours has elapsed
from the declaration of a first stage of impaired air quality shall constitute prima
facie evidence of unlawful operation of a solid fuel burning device if that solid fuel
burning device is restricted from operating during a first stage of impaired air
quality. This presumption may be refuted by demonstration that the smoke was not
caused by a solid fuel burning device.

Whenever a second stage of impaired air quality is declared under subsection (a)(2):

(D

2

New solid fuel shall be withheld from any solid fuel burning device already in
operation for the duration of the second stage of impaired air quality if that device is
restricted from operating under subsection (a)(2) of this section during the second
stage of impaired air quality.

Smoke visible from a chimney, flue, or exhaust duct after three hours has elapsed
from the declaration of a second stage of impaired air quality shall constitute prima
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(d)

facie evidence of unlawful operation of a solid fuel burning device if that solid fuel
burning device is restricted from operating during a second stage of impaired air
quality. This presumption may be refuted by demonstration that the smoke was not
caused by a solid fuel burning device.

Any person desiring an exemption from the Agency for the purposes of subsections (a)(1)
or (2) of this section shall apply to the Agency using procedures specified by the Agency.

(1

)

The following are eligible for exemption:

(A) A residence or commercial building that has no adequate source of heat
other than a solid fuel burning device and the building was neither
constructed nor substantially remodeled after July 1, 1992.

(B) A residence or commercial building that has no adequate source of heat
other than a solid fuel heating device and the building:

1. was constructed or substantially remodeled after July 1, 1992; and
1i. is outside an urban growth area, as defined in RCW 36.70A; and

iii. is outside an area designated by EPA as a PM2.5 or PM10
particulate nonattainment area.

Exemptions shall be valid for a period determined by the Agency. Exemptions may
be renewed using procedures specified by the Agency, provided the applicant
meets the applicable requirements at the time of exemption renewal. Exemptions
may be revoked if the Agency determines the residence or commercial building for
which the exemption was approved no longer qualifies for an exemption.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13

SECTION 13.06 EMISSION PERFORMANCE STANDARDS Adopted 10/25/12 (1258)

(a)

Solid fuel burning devices. A person shall not advertise to sell, offer to sell, sell, bargain,
exchange, give away, or install a solid fuel burning device unless it meets both subsections
(1) and (2):

(1

2)

It has been certified and labeled in accordance with procedures and criteria
specified in "40 CFR 60 Subpart AAA - Standards of Performance for Residential
Wood Heaters" as amended through July 1, 1990; and

It meets the following particulate air contaminant emission standards and the test
methodology of EPA in effect on January 1, 1991, or an equivalent standard under
any test methodology adopted by EPA subsequent to such date:

(A)  Two and one-half grams per hour for catalytic woodstoves; and
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(b)

(c)

)

(B)  Four and one-half grams per hour for all other solid fuel burning devices.

For purposes of subsection (a)(2) of this section, "equivalent" shall mean the
emissions limits specified in subsection (a)(2) multiplied by a statistically reliable
conversion factor determined by Ecology that relates the emission test results from
the methodology established by the EPA prior to May 15, 1991, to the test results
from the methodology subsequently adopted by EPA.

Fireplaces. A person shall not advertise to sell, offer to sell, sell, bargain, exchange, give
away, or install a factory-built fireplace unless it meets the 1990 EPA standards for wood
stoves or an equivalent standard that may be established by the state building code council
by rule.

Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to fireplaces, including factory- built
fireplaces and masonry fireplaces.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13

SECTION 13.07 PROHIBITIONS ON WOOD STOVES THAT ARE NOT CERTIFIED
WOOD STOVES adopted 10/25/12 (1258)

(a)

Subsections (a)(1) — (a)(4) of this section shall be effective January 1, 2015 and apply only
to PM2.5 nonattainment areas or areas where required by EPA.

(1

)

€)

4

Any person who owns or is responsible for a wood stove that is both (a) not a
certified wood stove and (b) is located in the Tacoma, Washington fine particulate
nonattainment area must remove and dispose of it or render it permanently
inoperable by September 30, 2015.

Any person who owns or is responsible for a coal-only heater located in the
Tacoma, Washington fine particulate nonattainment area must remove and dispose
of it or render it permanently inoperable by September 30, 2015.

Subsection (a)(1) of section does not apply to:

(A) A person in a residence or commercial establishment that does not have an
adequate source of heat without burning wood; or

(B) A person with a shop or garage that is detached from the main residence or
commercial establishment that does not have an adequate source of heat in
the detached shop or garage without burning wood.

The owner or person responsible for removing or rendering permanently inoperable
a wood stove under subsection (a)(1) of this section or a coal-only heater under
subsection (a)(2) of this section must provide documentation of the removal and
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disposal or rendering permanently inoperable to the Agency using the Agency’s
procedures within 30 days of the removal or rendering permanently inoperable.

(b) PM10. Subsection (b) of this section is established for the sole purpose of a contingency
measure for PM10 nonattainment and maintenance areas. If the EPA makes written
findings that: (1) an area has failed to attain or maintain the National Ambient Air Quality
Standard for PM10, and (2) in consultation with Ecology and the Agency, finds that the
emissions from solid fuel burning devices are a contributing factor to such failure to attain
or maintain the standard, the use of wood stoves not meeting the standards set forth in
RCW 70.94.457 shall be prohibited within the area determined by the Agency to have
contributed to the violation. This provision shall take effect one year after such a
determination.

State effective: 12/01/12; EPA effective: 6/28/13
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REGULATION Il - ARTICLE 1: PURPOSE, POLICY, SHORT TITLE, AND
DEFINITIONS

SECTION 1.01 PURPOSE adopted 03/13/30 (462)

Revised 09/09/99 (895)

The Puget Sound Clean Air Agency, consisting of the counties of King, Kitsap, Pierce, and
Snohomish, having been activated by the Washington Clean Air Act, RCW 70.94, adopted
Regulation I on March 13, 1968 to control the emission of air contaminants from all sources, to
provide for the uniform administration and enforcement of air pollution control in its jurisdiction
and to carry out the requirements and purposes of the Washington Clean Air Act.

The Board of Directors of the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency has amended Regulation I from time
to time as necessary and now recognizes the need for a special regulation to reduce ozone
concentrations as required by the Federal Clean Air Act as amended. Accordingly, the Board has
adopted Regulation II to provide for control of photochemically reactive volatile organic
compounds (VOC), which are precursors to ozone, to meet the National Ambient Air Quality
Standard for ozone.

State effective: 11/01/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 1.02 POLICY Adopted 03/13/30 (462)

Revised 12/13/84 (568), 06/13/91 (700), 09/09/99 (895)

The Puget Sound Clean Air Agency hereby reaffirms its public policy as defined in Section 1.01 of
Regulation I and further asserts its intent to secure and maintain control of emissions of volatile

organic compounds to the extent needed to attain and maintain the National Ambient Air Quality
Standard for ozone, and minimize the emission of stratospheric ozone depleting and toxic organic
compounds, thus protecting the health and welfare of the people of the central Puget Sound region.

It is therefore the policy of the Board that water-based, high solids, or powder coatings and
water-based cleaning materials are preferred to be used to comply with this regulation. The
substitution of negligibly reactive VOCs for photochemically reactive VOCs shall not be an
accepted method of compliance

State effective: 11/01/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 1.03 SHORT TITLE Adopted 12/11/80 (482)
Revised 09/09/99 (895)
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This regulation may be known and cited as "Regulation II of the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency".

State effective: 11/01/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 1.04 GENERAL DEFINITIONS Adopted 03/13/30 (462)

Revised/Renumbered 12/11/80 (482)

All definitions in Regulation I Section 1.07, Definitions, are fully applicable to Regulation II.

State effective: 12/11/80; EPA effective: 4/29/83

SECTION 1.05 SPECIAL DEFINITIONS Adopted 03/13/80 (462)

Revised/Renumbered 12/11/80 (482), Revised 02/11/82 (510), 06/13/91 (700), 02/10/94 (777), 07/08/99 (885), 09/09/99 (895), 07/24/03

(1002)

When used in Regulation II of the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency:

(a)

(b)
(c)
(d)
(e)

&)

(&)

(h)

W)

AEROSPACE COMPONENT means the fabricated part, assembly of parts, or
completed unit of any aircraft, helicopter, missile or space vehicle.

ANTIGLARE/SAFETY COATING means a coating that does not reflect light.
COMMERCIAL AEROSPACE PRIMER means BMS 10-11, Type 1.
COMMERCIAL AEROSPACE TOPCOAT means BMS 10-11, Type II.

CUTBACK ASPHALT means an asphalt that has been blended with more than 7%
petroleum distillates by weight.

FLEXOGRAPHIC PRINTING means the application of words, designs and pictures to a
substrate by means of a roll printing technique in which the pattern to be applied is raised
above the printing roll and the image carrier is made of rubber or other elastomeric
materials.

GELCOAT means a polyester resin surface coating that provides a cosmetic enhancement
and improves resistance to degradation from exposure to the environment.

METALLIC/IRIDESCENT TOPCOAT means any coating that contains more than 5
grams per liter (0.042 Ib/gal) of metal or iridescent particles, as applied, where such
particles are visible in the dried film.

MILITARY AEROSPACE PRIMER means the current version of MIL-P-85582.
MILITARY AEROSPACE TOPCOAT means the current version of MILC-85285.
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(k)

)

(m)

(n)

(0)

(p)

(@

(r)

(s)

®

(w)

PACKAGING ROTOGRAVURE PRINTING means rotogravure printing upon paper,
paper board, metal foil, plastic film, and other substrates, that are, in subsequent
operations, formed into packaging products and labels for articles to be sold.

POLYESTER RESIN means a group of synthetic resins containing ethylenic
unsaturation and capable of undergoing free radical polymerization with styrene monomer.

PRECOAT means any coating that is applied to bare metal primarily to deactivate the
metal surface for corrosion resistance to a subsequent waterbased primer.

PRETREATMENT WASH PRIMER means any coating that contains a minimum of
0.5% acid by weight, is necessary to provide surface etching and is applied directly to bare
metal surfaces to provide corrosion resistance and adhesion.

PRIMER means a coating applied directly to a component for purposes of corrosion
protection, protection from the environment, functional fluid resistance and adhesion of
subsequent coatings.

PRIMER SEALER means any coating applied prior to the application of a topcoat for the
purpose of corrosion resistance, adhesion of the topcoat, color uniformity, and to promote
the ability of an undercoat to resist penetration by the topcoat.

PRIMER SURFACER means any coating applied prior to the application of topcoat for
the purpose of corrosion resistance, adhesion of the topcoat, and that promotes a uniform
surface by filling in surface imperfections.

PUBLICATION ROTOGRAVURE PRINTING means rotogravure printing upon
paper that is subsequently formed into books, magazines, catalogues, brochures,
directories, newspaper supplements and other types of printed materials.

ROTOGRAVURE PRINTING means the application of ink to a substrate by means of a
roll printing technique that involves an intaglio or recessed image areas in the form of cells.

TEMPORARY PROTECTIVE COATING means a coating applied to an aerospace
component to protect it from mechanical and environmental damage during
manufacturing.

TOPCOAT means a coating applied over a primer or directly to a component primarily for
purposes of appearance or identification.

State effective: 09/01/03; EPA effective: 10/17/13

REGULATION Il - ARTICLE 2: GASOLINE MARKETING EMISSION STANDARDS

SECTION 2.01 DEFINITIONS Adopted 07/08/99 (885)

When used in this Article:

Table 4 — Puget Sound Clean Air Agency Regulations — page 53



(a)

(b)

(©)

(d)

(e)

®

GASOLINE means any petroleum distillate or petroleum distillate/alcohol blend with a
Reid vapor pressure of 4 pounds per square inch (27.6 kPa) or greater, which is used as a
fuel for motor vehicles, marine vessels, or aircraft.

GASOLINE STATION means any site that dispenses gasoline from stationary storage
tanks into fuel tanks of motor vehicles, marine vessels, or aircraft.

PETROLEUM REFINERY means a facility engaged in producing gasoline, aromatics,
kerosene, distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, lubricants, asphalt, or other products by
distilling crude oils or redistilling, cracking, extracting, or reforming unfinished petroleum
derivatives. Not included are facilities re-refining used motor oils or waste chemicals,
processing finished petroleum products, separating blended products, or air blowing
asphalt.

SUBMERGED FILL LINE means any discharge pipe or nozzle that meets either of the
following conditions:

(1) Where the tank is filled from the top, the end of the discharge pipe or nozzle must
be totally submerged when the liquid level is 6 inches (15 cm) from the bottom of
the tank; or

(2) Where the tank is filled from the side, the discharge pipe or nozzle must be totally
submerged when the liquid level is 18 inches (46 cm) from the bottom of the tank.

TRANSPORT TANK means a container with a capacity greater than 264 gallons (1000
liters) used for shipping gasoline over roadways.

VAPOR RECOVERY SYSTEM means a process that prevents the emission to the
atmosphere of volatile organic compounds released by the operation of any transfer,
storage, or process equipment.

State effective: 8/13/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 2.03 PETROLEUM REFINERIES Adopted 03/13/80 (462)

Revised 06/13/91 (700)

(a)
(b)

(c)

Section 2.03 shall apply to all petroleum refineries.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of any
vacuum-producing  system unless all noncondensable VOC is piped to an appropriate
firebox, flare, or incinerator for combustion or collected, compressed and added to the fuel
gas system or contained and treated so as to prevent their emission to the atmosphere.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of a wastewater separator
unless such separator meets the following requirements:

(1) Wastewater separator forebays shall incorporate a fixed solid cover with all
openings sealed, totally enclosing the compartmented liquid contents.

(2) All other compartments of the separator shall be equipped with a floating pontoon
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3)

or fixed solid cover equipped with closure seals that have no tears or leaks, installed
and maintained so that gaps between the compartment wall and the seal shall not
exceed 0.32 centimeters (_ inch) for an accumulative length of 97% of the
perimeter of the compartment. No gap between the compartment wall and the seal
shall exceed 1.3 centimeters (72 inch).

Accesses for gauging and sampling shall be designed to minimize VOC emissions
during actual use. All access points shall be closed with suitable covers when not in
use. There shall be no visible gaps between the forebay cover and the
compartment when the cover is closed.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow a process unit turnaround unless:

(1) The VOC contained in a process unit to be depressurized for turnaround is
combusted by a flare or vented to an equally effective disposal system; and

(2) The pressure in a process unit following depressurization for turnaround is less than
5 pounds per square inch gauge (psig) before venting to the ambient air; and

3) The owner or operator keeps a record of each process unit turnaround listing the
date the unit was shut down and the pressure in the vessel when it was vented to the
ambient air.

e It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the operation of a component handlin
yp p p g

volatile organic compounds with a true vapor pressure greater than 10.5 kPa (1.5 psia) at
20°C unless such person:

(1

2)

Develops and conducts a monitoring program as follows:

(A)  Monitor all pump seals, pipeline valves in liquid service and process drains
yearly;

(B)  Monitor all compressor seals, pipeline valves in gaseous service and
pressure relief valves in gaseous service quarterly;

(C)  Visually monitor all pump seals weekly;
(D)  Monitor any dripping pump seal immediately;

(E)  Monitor any relief valve within 24 hours after it has vented to the
atmosphere; and

(F) Monitor immediately after repair any component that was found leaking.

Maintains a leaking component monitoring log that shall contain, at a minimum,
the following:

(A)  The name of the process unit where the component is located;
(B)  The type of component;
(C)  The tag number of the component;

(D)  The date on which a leaking component is discovered;
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®

(2

(E)  The date on which a leaking component is repaired;

(F) The date and instrument reading of the recheck procedure after a leaking
component is repaired;

(G) A record of the calibration of the monitoring instrument;
(H) A record of those leaks that cannot be repaired until turnaround;

(I)  The total number of components checked and the total number of
components found leaking.

Copies of the monitoring log shall be retained for a minimum of 2 years after the
date on which the record was made or the report prepared.

3) Records all leaking components that have a VOC concentration greater than 10,000
ppm and places a weatherproof tag bearing an identification number and the date
the leak was located on each leaking component.

(4) Corrects and retests the leaking component, as soon as practicable, but not later
than 15 days after the leak is recorded. If a leak continues after all reasonable
corrective actions have been taken, then the component shall be repaired or
replaced on the next scheduled turnaround.

&) Identifies all leaking components that cannot be corrected until the refinery unit is
shut down for turnaround.

It shall be unlawful to install or operate a valve at the end of a pipe or line containing VOC
unless the pipe or line is sealed with a second suitable closure. Exceptions to this
requirement are the ends of a pipe or line connected to pressure relief valves, aspirator
vents or other devices specifically required to be open for safety protection. The sealing
device shall be removed only when a sample is being taken or during maintenance
operations.

Pressure relief devices that are connected to an operating flare header, vapor recovery
device, inaccessible valves, storage tank valves and valves that are not externally regulated
are exempt from the monitoring requirements of Section 2.03.

State effective: 7/15/91; EPA effective: 10/28/94

SECTION 2.05 GASOLINE LOADING TERMINALS Adopted 03/13/80 (462)
Revised 12/11/80 (482), 02/11/82 (510), 06/13/91 (700), 01/09/92 (717), 12/09/93 (769)

(a)

(b)

Section 2.05 shall apply to all gasoline loading terminals with an annual gasoline
throughput greater than 7,200,000 gallons.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the loading of gasoline into any
transport tank unless all the following conditions are met:
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(c)

(d)

(1) The loading terminal shall employ bottom loading and be equipped with a vapor
recovery system;

(2) All loading lines and vapor lines shall be equipped with vapor-tight fittings that
close automatically upon disconnect;

3) All vapor return lines shall be connected between the transport tank and the vapor
recovery system such that all displaced volatile organic compounds are vented to
the vapor recovery system; and

(4) The back-pressure in the vapor lines shall not exceed 4.5 kPa (18 inches) of water
pressure.

The vapor recovery system required by this section shall prevent the emission of at least
90% by weight of the volatile organic compounds and shall limit the emission of volatile
organic compounds to no more than 35 milligrams per liter (mg/1) of gasoline transferred.

The vapor recovery system required by Section 2.05(b) shall be equipped with a
continuous emission monitoring system meeting the requirements of Article 12 of
Regulation 1.

State effective: 01/13/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 2.06 BULK GASOLINE PLANTS Adopted 03/13/80 (462)

Revised 12/11/80 (482), 06/13/91 (700),

(a)

(b)

(c)

Section 2.06 shall apply to all bulk gasoline plants with an annual average daily gasoline
throughput greater than 15,140 liters (4,000 gallons).

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the transfer of gasoline from any
transport tank into any stationary storage tank with a capacity greater than 3,785 liters
(1,000 gallons) unless the following conditions are met:

(1) Such stationary storage tank is equipped with a permanent submerged fill pipe and
"CARB-certified" vapor recovery system; and

(2) Such transport tank is equipped to balance vapors and is maintained in a leak-tight
condition in accordance with Section 2.08 of Regulation II; and

3) All vapor return lines are connected between the transport tank and the stationary
storage tank, and the vapor recovery system is operating.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow transfer of gasoline between a
stationary storage tank and a transport tank except under the following conditions:

(1)  All transport tanks shall be bottom loaded;

(2) The loading of all transport tanks, shall be performed such that 90% by volume of
the gasoline vapors displaced during filling are prevented from being released into
the ambient air;
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3)
(4)

Such transport tanks shall be equipped to balance vapors; and

All vapor return lines are connected between the transport tank and the stationary
storage tank, and the vapor recovery system is operating.

State effective: 7/15/91; EPA effective: 10/28/94

SECTION 2.07 GASOLINE STATIONS Adopted 03/13/80 (462)Revised 02/11/82 (510), 06/13/91 (700), 01/09/92 (717),
10/14/93 (764), 02/10/94 (777), 07/08/99 (885), 12/09/99 (905)

(a)

(b)

(c)

Applicability. This section shall apply to all facilities that load gasoline into the fuel
tanks of motor vehicles, marine vessels, or aircraft directly from stationary storage tanks.

(1

2)

Stage 1 vapor recovery system requirements shall apply to all gasoline storage
tanks with a capacity of greater than 1,000 gallons:

(A) Installed after January 1, 1979; or

(B)  Located at facilities with a gasoline throughput greater than 200,000 gallons
per calendar year.

Stage 2 vapor recovery system requirements shall apply to all gasoline storage
tanks with a capacity of greater than 1,000 gallons (except those used exclusively
for aviation or marine gasoline):

(A) Installed after August 2, 1991;

(B)  Located at facilities in King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties with a
gasoline throughput greater than 600,000 gallons per calendar year; or

(C)  Located at facilities in Kitsap County with a gasoline throughput greater
than 840,000 gallons per calendar year.

Stage 1 Requirements. It shall be unlawful for an owner or operator of the facility to
cause or allow the transfer of gasoline from a transport tank into a stationary storage tank

unless:

(1)

)

The stationary storage tank is equipped with a submerged fill line and a Stage 1
vapor recovery system certified by the California Air Resources Board and
installed in accordance with the system’s certification requirements; and

The system is visually inspected after each product delivery and any equipment
found to be defective (e.g., loose caps or adaptors, stuck poppet valves, damaged
gaskets) is repaired or replaced as soon as possible but no later than 7 days after the
inspection.

Stage 2 Requirements. It shall be unlawful for an owner or operator of the facility to
cause or allow the transfer of gasoline from the stationary storage tank into a motor vehicle
fuel tank (except motorcycles) unless:

(1)

The stationary storage tank and dispenser are equipped with a Stage 2 vapor
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(d)

recovery system certified by the California Air Resources Board and installed in
accordance with the system's certification requirements;

(2) Operating instructions are conspicuously posted and include a warning against
topping off and the Department of Ecology's toll-free telephone number for
complaints about the system,;

3) The system is inspected on a weekly basis and any equipment found to be defective
(e.g., torn bellows, mini-boots or hoses, leaking spouts, swivels or hoses, missing
latch coils, stiff swivels) is taken out of service until repaired or replaced; and

(4) The system is tested for compliance with its certification requirements (e.g.,
pressure decay, back-pressure, air/liquid ratio) and any equipment found to be
defective is repaired/replaced and retested for compliance within 30 days. In the
event that repair and retesting of defective equipment cannot be accomplished
within 30 days, a 30-day extension may be granted in writing, provided that the
owner or operator demonstrates in advance to the Control Officer that the
equipment is being repaired and retested as soon as possible.

Compliance Tests. Compliance with the requirements in Section 2.07(c)(4) of this
regulation shall be achieved no later than July 1, 2000. Tests shall be performed in
accordance with the test methods and Executive Orders of the California Air Resources
Board in effect July 1, 1998. (Testing frequencies are specified in the Executive Orders.)
These tests shall be exempt from the requirements of Section 3.07 of Regulation 1.
However, notification of the test date shall be submitted to the Agency at least 5 days in
advance of the test and copies of all test results shall be kept on site for at least 2 years from
the date of the test.

State effective: 01/10/00; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 2.08 GASOLINE TRANSPORT TANKS Adopted 12/11/80 (482)

Revised 02/11/82 (510), Revised/Renumbered 06/13/91 (700), Revised 07/08/99 (885)

(a)

(b)

This section shall apply to all transport tanks that deliver gasoline to gasoline stations or
bulk gasoline distribution facilities equipped with a vapor recovery system.

It shall be unlawful for the owner or operator of a transport tank to cause or allow the
transfer of gasoline at a facility equipped with a vapor recovery system unless:

(1) The transport tank is also equipped with a vapor recovery system;

(2) The transport tank is tested annually in accordance with the procedures in Method
27 of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A by pressurizing the tank to gauge pressures of
18 and —6 inches of water and waiting for a time period of 5 minutes during which
the pressure change is no more than:

tank capacity(gallons) pressure change
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(©)

)

(4)

)

(6)

(inches of water)
2,500 or more 1.0
1,500-2,499 1.5
1,000-1,499 2.0
999 or less 2.5

The internal vapor valve of the transport tank is tested annually in accordance with
the procedures in Method 27 of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A by repressurizing the
tank to 18 inches of water, closing the vapor valve, relieving all the pressure in the
vapor return line, resealing the vapor return line, and waiting for a time period of 5
minutes during which the pressure change in the vapor return line and manifold is

no more than 5 inches of water;

The transport tank carries a certificate that includes the following information:
(A)  Testing company name, date, and test location;

(B)  Tester’s name, title, and signature;

(C)  Transport tank owner’s name and address;

(D)  Transport tank identification number;

(E)  Type of test: pressure decay, vacuum decay, or internal vapor valve;

(F)  Vapor tightness repair (if any): nature of repair work and when performed
in relation to the test; and

(G)  Test results: pressure or vacuum change, time period of test.

The transport tank displays a sticker near the Department of Transportation
certification plate, which shows the identification number of the transport tank and
the date the transport tank last passed the tests specified in this section; and

The vapor recovery system is employed and the concentration of gasoline vapors is
below the lower explosive limit (measured as propane) at all points a distance of 1
inch or greater from any potential leak source on the transport tank. (Any
transport tank that fails to meet this requirement shall be repaired and retested for
compliance with Sections 2.08(b)(2) and (b)(3) of this regulation within 10 days,
and a copy of the revised compliance certificate shall be sent to the Agency within 5
days after completing the required leak test.)

Transport tanks tested prior to August 1, 1999 shall be subject to the requirements in
Sections 2.08(b)(2) and (b)(3) of this regulation at the time of their next annual test.

State effective: 8/13/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04
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SECTION 2.09 OXYGENATED GASOLINE CARBON MONOXIDE CONTINGENCY
MEASURE AND FEE SCHEDULE Adopted 10/14/93 (764)

Revised 05/12/94 (787), 07/11/96 (834), 12/19/02 (976)

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

&)

Applicability. This section shall apply to gasoline intended as a final product for fueling of
motor vehicles within King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties during the months of
November, December, January, and February if, in consultation with the Washington
Department of Ecology and the Agency, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency makes
a written finding that:

(1) Quality-assured violations of the national ambient air quality standard for carbon
monoxide have occurred at multiple monitoring sites within the jurisdiction of the
Agency,

(2) Local mitigation measures have not improved traffic conditions sufficiently to help
prevent future violations, and

3) Prevention of future violations can be reasonably addressed through the
implementation of this section.

The Agency shall provide public notice of this written finding no later than May 1
to all registered gasoline stations and blenders. This section shall take effect on
November 1 following the public notice of such a written finding.

It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, make available for sale, or dispense gasoline
with an oxygen content less than 2.7% by weight.

It shall be unlawful for any gasoline station to dispense oxygenated gasoline unless the fuel
dispensing system is conspicuously labeled as follows: The gasoline dispensed from this
pump is oxygenated and will reduce carbon monoxide pollution from motor vehicles.

Blenders of oxygenated gasoline shall register with the Agency on an annual basis. Each
request for registration shall be on forms supplied by the Agency and shall be accompanied
by a fee to compensate for the cost of administering the program. The following fee table,
based upon the average monthly sales of gasoline sold during the previous November,
December, January, and February, shall apply:

Volume (gallons)
less than 100,000 $ 500.00
100,000 or more, but less than 1,000,000 $1,000.00
1,000,000 or more, but less than 15,000,000 $10,000.00
15,000,000 or more $25,000.00

Upon assessment by the Agency, this registration fee is due and payable within 30 days. It
shall be deemed delinquent if not fully paid within 90 days.

Blenders of oxygenated gasoline shall, upon request by the Agency, submit periodic
reports summarizing how the requirements of this section were met. Each report shall be
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submitted on forms supplied by the Agency within 30 days of receipt of forms.

State effective: 01/23/03; EPA effective: 9/7/04

SECTION 2.10 GASOLINE STATION OZONE CONTINGENCY MEASURE adopted 12/19/02

(976)

(a)

(b)

(c)

Applicability. This section shall apply to gasoline stations that use coaxial Stage 1 vapor
recovery systems and dispense 600,000 gallons or more of gasoline per year if, in
consultation with the Washington State Department of Ecology and the Agency, the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency makes a written finding that:

(1) A quality-assured violation of the national ambient air quality standard for ozone
has occurred, and

(2) Prevention of future violations can be reasonably addressed through the
implementation of this section.

The Agency shall provide public notice of this written finding no later than
November 1. This section shall take effect on May 1 following the public notice of
such a written finding.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the transfer of gasoline from a
transport tank into a stationary storage tank unless a California Air Resources Board
(CARB) Stage I system, approved after July 1, 2002, is installed and operated in
accordance with CARB system certification requirements.

The systems required in Section 2.10(b) of this regulation shall be installed within 1 year of
the May 1 effective date listed in Section 2.10(a) of this regulation.

State adopted: 01/23/03; EPA effective: 9/7/04

REGULATION Il - ARTICLE 3: MISCELLANEOUS VOLATILE ORGANIC
COMPOUND EMISSION STANDARDS

SECTION 3.01 CUTBACK ASPHALT PAVING Adopted 03/13/80 (462)

Revised/Renumbered 06/13/91 (700)

(a)

(b)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the use of cutback asphalt in paving

during the months of June, July, August, and September, except as provided for in Section
3.01(b).

The following paving uses and applications of cutback asphalts are permitted during all
months of the year:

(1) As a penetrating prime coat on aggregate bases prior to paving.

(2) The manufacture of patching mixes used exclusively for pavement maintenance
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and needed to be stockpiled for times longer than one month.

3) All paving uses when the temperature during application is below 10°C (50°F).

State effective: 7/15/91; EPA effective: 10/28/94

SECTION 3.02 VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUND STORAGE TANKS Adopted 03/13/80 (462)

Revised 12/11/80 (482), 06/13/91 (700), Revised/Renumbered 07/08/99 (885)

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

This section shall apply to all stationary storage tanks with a capacity of 40,000 gallons
(151,400 liters) or greater storing volatile organic compounds with a true vapor pressure of
1.5 pounds per square inch (10.5 kPa) or greater at actual monthly average storage
temperatures.

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow such storage unless the storage tank is
a pressure tank maintaining working pressures sufficient at all times to prevent organic
vapor loss to the atmosphere, or is designed and equipped with one of the following vapor
loss control devices:

(1) An external floating roof, consisting of a pontoon-type or double deck-type cover
that rests on the surface of the liquid contents at all times and is equipped with a
closure device between the tank shell and the roof edge. The closure device shall
consist of two seals, a primary seal and a rim mounted secondary seal above the
primary; or

(2) A fixed roof with an internal floating-type cover that rests on the surface of the
liquid contents at all times and is equipped with a closure device. The closure
device shall prevent the emission of organic vapors such that the concentration of
such vapors in the vapor space above the internal floating roof does not exceed 50%
of the lower explosive limit (LEL) measured as propane; or

3 A fixed roof tank with control equipment that reduces emissions by 95% or greater.
quip y g

All primary seals or closure devices shall meet the following requirements:
(1) The primary seal shall contain no visible holes, tears, or other openings.

(2) No gap between the tank shell and the primary seal shall exceed 1'% inches (3.8
cm). No continuous gap greater than 1/8 inch (0.32 cm) shall exceed

All secondary seals or closure devices shall meet the following requirements:

(1) There shall be no visible holes, tears, or other openings in the secondary seal or seal
fabric;

(2) The secondary seal shall be intact and uniformly in place around the circumference
of the floating roof between the roof and the tank wall; and

3) No gap between the tank shell and the secondary seal shall exceed /2 inch (1.3 cm).
The cumulative length of all gaps exceeding s inch (0.32 cm) in width between the
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(e)

®

(2

(h)

(1)

secondary seal and the tank wall shall not exceed 5% of the circumference of the
tank.

All openings in the external floating roof, except for automatic bleeder vents, rim space
vents, and leg sleeves shall be:

(1) Equipped with covers, seals, or lids in the closed position except when the openings
are in actual use; and

(2) Equipped with projections into the tank that remain below the liquid surface at all
times.

Automatic bleeder vents shall be closed at all times except when the roof is floated off or
landed on the roof leg supports.

Rim vents shall be set to open when the roof is being floated off the leg supports or at the
manufacturer's recommended setting.

Emergency roof drains shall be provided with slotted membrane fabric covers or
equivalent that cover at least 90% of the area of the opening.

Routine inspections shall be performed by the owner or operator as follows:

(1) For external floating roof tanks, conduct a semiannual visual inspection of all seals
and closure devices and measure the primary and secondary seal gap annually;

(2) For internal floating roof tanks, visually inspect all seals and measure the
concentration of VOC in the vapor space above the internal floating roof
semiannually; and

3) Maintain records of the results of any inspections performed for a period of 2 years
after the date on which the record was made.

State effective: 08/13/99; EPA effective: 9/30/04

SECTION 3.03 CAN AND PAPER COATING OPERATIONS Adopted 03/13/80 (462)

Revised 12/11/80 (482), Revised/Renumbered 06/13/91 (700), Revised 02/10/94 (777)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the application of any coating from the
following processes that has a VOC content in excess of the following limits:

Process Grams/Liter (Lbs/Gal)

VOC Content
(excluding water)

Can Coating

Basecoat (exterior and interior) and

overvarnish 340 (2.8)

Interior body spray, exterior end,

spray or roll coat 510 (4.2)

End sealing compound 440 (3.7)
Paper Coating 350 (2.9)

State effective: 3/17/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

Table 4 -- Puget Sound Clean Air Agency Regulations — page 64



SECTION 3.04 MOTOR VEHICLE AND MOBILE EQUIPMENT COATING
OPERATIONS Adopted 06/13/91 (700)

Revised 12/09/93 (769), 07/24/03 (1002)

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

It shall be unlawful for original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) to apply any coating
with a VOC content in excess of the following limits to motorized vehicles, their parts and
components, or equipment designed to be pulled by motorized vehicles:

VOC Content
(excluding water)

Type of Coating Grams/Liter (Lbs/Gal)
Pretreatment Wash Primer 780 (6.5)
Precoat 780 (6.5)
Primer/Primer Surfacer 720 (6.0)
Primer Sealer 720 (6.0)
Topcoat 720 (6.0)
Metallic/Iridescent Topcoat 720 (6.0)

It shall be unlawful for any person to apply any specialty coating with a VOC content in
excess of 840 grams/liter (7.0 lbs/gal), excluding water. Use of all specialty coatings
except antiglare/safety coatings shall not exceed 5.0% of all coatings applied on a monthly
basis. Specialty coatings are coatings that are necessary due to unusual job performance
requirements and whose VOC content exceeds 630 grams/liter.

The VOC content of each coating regulated by this section shall be available to Agency
personnel upon request. Monthly records shall be maintained to demonstrate compliance
with the standards specified in Section 3.04(a) and 3.04(b) of this regulation. The records
shall include type of paint, quantity applied, and how the coating qualifies as specialty. The
records shall be made available to Agency personnel upon request.

It shall be unlawful for any person to apply any VOC-containing material to any motorized
vehicles, their parts and components, or equipment designed to be pulled by motorized
vehicles unless the coating is applied by the use of one of the following methods:

(1) High volume, low pressure (0.1 to 10 psig air pressure for atomization) spray
equipment,

(2) Electrostatic spray equipment,

3) Flow coat,

(4) Dip coat,

(%) Brush coat,

(6) Hand-held aerosol cans,

(7) Roll coat, or

() Air brush.

It shall be unlawful for any person to use any VOC-containing material for the cleanup of

spray equipment, including paint lines, unless equipment for collecting the
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VOC-containing material and minimizing the evaporation to the atmosphere is employed.
All VOC-containing materials that are flushed through the spray equipment or lines during
cleanup shall be collected in a closed container.

It shall be unlawful for any person to use open containers for the storage or disposal of
VOC-containing materials. Such containers and tanks shall be kept closed except when
being cleaned or when materials are being added, mixed, or removed. Closed containers
for solvent rag or paper disposal are required. Empty containers as defined in WAC
173-303-160 are exempt.

State effective: 9/01/03; EPA effective: 10/17/13

SECTION 3.05 GRAPHIC ARTS SYSTEMS Aadopted 12/11/80 (482)

Revised 12/09/93 (769)

(a)

(b)

(©)

This section shall apply to all rotogravure and flexographic printing facilities that use more
than 90 megagrams (100 tons) per year of volatile organic compounds.

Machines that have both coating units (apply a uniform layer of material across the entire
width of a web) and printing units (forming words, designs and pictures) shall be included
under this section rather than Section 3.03 of this regulation.

It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a facility subject to this regulation unless:

(1) The volatile fraction of ink, as it is applied to the substrate, contains 25% by volume
or less of volatile organic compounds;

(2) The ink, as it is applied to the substrate, less water, contains 60% by volume or
more nonvolatile material; or,

3) The owner or operator installs and operates:
(A) A capture system that shall collect at least:
(1) 75% of the emissions from a publication rotogravure process; or
(i1) 65% of the emissions from a packaging rotogravure process; or
(i)  60% of the emissions from a flexographic process; and

(B)  Control equipment that reduces the volatile organic compound emissions
from the capture system by at least 90% by weight.

State effective: 01/13/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 3.08 POLYESTER, VINYLESTER, GELCOAT, AND RESIN
OPERATIONS adopted 06/13/91 (700)

Revised 12/09/93 (769)

(a)

This section shall apply to manufacturing operations involving the use of polyester,
vinylester, gelcoat, or resin in which the styrene monomer is a reactive monomer for the
resin.
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(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the application of polyester resin,
vinylester resin, gelcoat, or any other resin unless the operation is conducted inside an
enclosed area that is registered with the Agency. The exhaust from the operation shall be
vented to the atmosphere through a vertical stack. For spray-coating applications of
polyester resin, vinylester resin, gelcoat, or any other resin, the enclosed area shall
incorporate a dry filter to control the overspray.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to use a chopper gun or spray gun to apply polyester
resin, vinylester resin, gelcoat, or any other resin, unless the coating is applied by the use of
one of the following methods:

(1) High volume, low pressure (0.1 to 10 psig air pressure for atomization) spray
equipment,

(2) Electrostatic spray equipment,
3) Airless spray equipment, or
(4) Air-assisted airless spray equipment.

(d) The provisions of Section 3.08(c) shall not apply to touchup and repair using a hand-held,
air atomized spray gun that has a container for resin as part of the gun.

(e) It shall be unlawful for any person to use any VOC-containing material for the cleanup of
spray equipment, including resin lines, unless equipment for collecting the
VOC-containing material and minimizing the evaporation to the atmosphere is employed.
All VOC-containing materials that are flushed through the spray equipment or lines during
cleanup shall be collected in a closed container.

6y} It shall be unlawful for any person to use open containers for the storage or disposal of
VOC-containing materials. Such containers and tanks shall be kept closed except when
being cleaned or when materials are being added, mixed, or removed. Closed containers
for solvent rag or paper disposal are required. Empty containers as defined in WAC
173-303-160 are exempt.

State effective: 01/13/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95

SECTION 3.09 AEROSPACE COMPONENT COATING OPERATIONS Adopted 12/11/80 (482)
Revised 02/11/82 (510), 06/13/91 (700), 12/09/93 (769)

(a) This section shall apply to any operation in which coatings are applied to aerospace
components.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the application of any coating
specified below that contains in excess of the following limits:

VOC Content
(excluding water)
Type of Coating Grams/Liter (Lbs/Gal)
Military Aerospace Topcoat 420 3.5
Commercial Aerospace Topcoat 420 (3.5
Military Aerospace Primer 350 (2.9)
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(c)

(d)

(e)

()

Commercial Aerospace Primer 350 (2.9)
Temporary Protective Coating 250 (2.1)

It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow the application of any coating listed in
Section 3.09(b) unless the coating is applied by the use of one of the following methods:

(1) High volume, low pressure (0.1 to 10 psig air pressure for atomization) spray
equipment,

(2) Electrostatic spray equipment,
3) Flow coat,

4) Dip coat,

%) Brush coat,

(6) Trowel coat,

(7) Hand-held aerosol cans,

(8) Roll coat,

) Electrodeposition,

(10)  Curtain coat, or

(11)  Air brush.

It shall be unlawful for any person to use any VOC-containing material for the cleanup of
spray equipment, including paint lines, unless equipment for collecting the
VOC-containing material and minimizing the evaporation to the atmosphere is employed.
All VOC-containing materials that are flushed through the spray equipment or lines during
cleanup shall be collected in a closed container.

It shall be unlawful for any person to use open containers for the storage or disposal of
VOC-containing materials. Such containers shall be kept closed except when being
cleaned or when materials are being added, mixed, or removed. Closed containers for
solvent rag or paper disposal are required. Empty containers as defined in WAC
173-303-160 are exempt.

The VOC limit for commercial aerospace topcoat in Section 3.09(b) shall become effective
January 1, 1994, except for those topcoat tints that have not been qualified as of that date.
All commercial aerospace topcoats must meet the VOC limit no later than January 1, 1995.

State effective: 01/13/94; EPA effective: 6/29/95
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