Contact Us


Advanced Search


Nominations for EPA New England’s Annual Environmental Merit Awards accepted until March 1, 2013

Release Date: 01/24/2013
Contact Information: David Deegan, (617) 918-1017

(Boston, Mass. – Jan. 24, 2013) – EPA is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Environmental Merit Awards, which will recognize environmental achievements during the past year. Award categories are available for individuals, businesses, state and local governments, and other organizations. Awards are also given under a lifetime achievement category.

These regional awards have been given out annually since EPA was created in 1970. Past recipients have included scientists, community activists, business representatives, public officials and other individuals committed to preserving the environment. An independent EPA panel will select the winners based on the following criteria: long-term effects on the environment; ability to address an environmental problem or need; collaboration with others; ability of the program or accomplishments to be widely shared; clarity and effectiveness of the presentation; and promotion of innovative ideas or techniques.

The awards are given in four categories: individual; business, industry, trade, and professional organization; local, state or federal government; and environmental, community or non-profit organization.

The deadline for nominations is March 1. Awards winners will be invited to a ceremony this spring in Boston.

For nomination forms and more information on Environmental Merit Awards, see: .

# # #