Contact Us


1998 News Releases


Issaquah Autobody Business Earns Evergreen Award

Release Date: 12/4/1998
Contact Information: Carolyn Gangmark
(206) 553-4072

December 4, 1998 - - - - - - - - 98-62


Busch Collision, an Issaquah, Washington, autobody repair shop has become the ninth Northwest company to earn the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Evergreen Award for Pollution Prevention. The award will officially presented at The National Autobody Congress and Exposition in Dallas, Texas, on Friday, December 4.

The award will be presented by Robert Lawrence, Planning and Coordination Manager in EPA’s regional Compliance Assurance & Enforcement Office in Dallas. The Evergreen Award is bestowed upon Northwest businesses by the EPA’s northwest regional office in Seattle, Washington, for leadership in pollution prevention and sustainable procurement.

The Evergreen Award showcases companies that are demonstrating how to build an environmentally sustainable economy,” said Chuck Clarke, EPA Regional Administrator in Seattle. Busch Collision has demonstrated how environmental protection and a thriving, autobody repair business can go hand-in-hand.”
Busch Collision

Prevention is the name of the game at the Busch Collision facility. New paint is ordered on an as-needed basis, eliminating the amount of storage and leftover paint. A computerized paint mixing system allows employees to accurately mix only the amount of paint necessary to do each job. The Company also provides employee cash incentives for recycling and water-reducing ideas. Freon and other Chlorofluorocarbons are also recovered and recycled by on-site certified technicians. For more details, see the accompanying Fact Sheet on Busch Collision.

The Evergreen Award for Pollution Prevention

EPA’s Evergreen Award is designed to showcase small, medium and large companies in the Pacific Northwest that have clearly incorporated a pollution preventing ethic into their business planning.

Companies in Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington will be considered for nomination if they are in full compliance with environmental laws, and meet the criteria of 1) having documented achievement in pollution prevention, 2) a commitment to the environment, and 3)a history of environmental leadership.

Nominations for the EPA Region 10 Evergreen Award for Pollution Prevention will be accepted from employees of environmental regulatory agencies as well as companies themselves. The deadline for the next round of awards is February 13, 1999. Nominations received after that date will be considered for subsequent rounds.
# # #