Jump to main content.

What other Nondiscrimination Statutes are enforced by EPA?

picture of different types of discriminationAnswer: In addition to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, EPA has nondiscrimination responsibilities under other Federal statutes, such as:

  • Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, which prohibits discrimination against persons with disabilities under Federally-assisted programs or activities;
  • Section 13 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination based on gender under programs or activities receiving financial assistance under the Clean Water Act;
  • Title IX of the Education Act amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of gender in Federally-assisted education programs; and
  • Age Discrimination Act of 1975, which prohibits discrimination based on age under Federally-assisted programs or activities.

Next Page

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.