EPA Science Advisory Board (SAB)

Scientific and Technological Achievement Awards (STAA) 2012-2014

EPA’s Scientific and Technological Achievement Awards (STAA) Program was established in 1980 to recognize Agency scientists and engineers who published their work in the peer-reviewed literature. The STAA Program is an annual Agency-wide competition to promote and recognize scientific and technological achievements by EPA employees. The SAB STAA Committee reviews scientific publications nominated by EPA managers and provides advice to the EPA Administrator regarding the nominations for STAA awards.

Designated Federal Officer: Edward Hanlon
Daston, George P.ChairThe Procter & Gamble CompanyMasonOH
Biddinger, GregoryNatural Land ManagementHoustonTX
Campbell, JerryHamner Institute for Health SciencesResearch Triangle ParkNC
Chapman, PeterGolder Associates LtdVancouverBC
Chow, JudithDesert Research InstituteRenoNV
Clark, JamesIndependent ConsultantEdmondsWA
Giesy, John P.University of SaskatchewanSaskatoonSaskatchewan
Hopke, PhilipClarkson UniversityPotsdamNY
Horvath, ArpadUniversity of California, BerkeleyBerkeleyCA
Landis, WayneWestern Washington UniversityBellinghamWA
Larson, Timothy V.University of WashingtonSeattleWA
Lee, Cindy M.Clemson UniversityAndersonSC
Luster, Michael I.West Virginia University Health Sciences CenterMorgantownWV
Mihelcic, James R.University of South FloridaTampaFL
Miller, Frederick J.Independent ConsultantCaryNC
Murphy, EileenTower 2, Room 282New BrunswickNJ
Portier, Kenneth M.American Cancer SocietyAtlantaGA
Turner, JayWashington University St. LouisMO
Young, Thomas M.University of California, Davis DavisCA
Zeng, YoushengProvidence Engineering & Environmental Group LLCBaton RougeLA