Children's Environmental Health: Health Care Providers | Region 10 | US EPA

Jump to main content.


Children's Environmental Health: Health Care Providers

Contact Us

Margo Young (young.margo@epa.gov)
Children's Environmental Health
(206) 553-1287

Alanna Conley (conley.alanna@epa.gov)
Healthy Schools, (503) 326-6831

***

Questions about lead?
Maria Tartaglia (tartaglia.maria@epa.gov)
206-553-6389

Questions about indoor air/radon?
Davis Zhen (zhen.davis@epa.gov)
206-553-7660

Questions about construction/demolition?
John Pavitt (pavitt.john@epa.gov)
907-271-3688

Questions about air quality?
Brook Madrone (madrone.brooke@epa.gov)
206-553-0244

Questions about air quality in tribal communities?
Erin McTigue (mctigue.erin@epa.gov)
206-553-1254

Questions about pest management?
Juliann Barta (barta.juliann@epa.gov)
206-553-1495

Questions about PCBs?
Michelle Mullin (mullin.michelle@epa.gov)
206-553-1616

Questions about pollution prevention or Energy Star?
Carolyn Gangmark (gangmark.carolyn@epa.gov)
206-553-4072

Questions about environmental education?
Sally Hanft (hanft.sally@epa.gov)
206-553-1207

EPA supports efforts to integrate environmental health into health care provider education and practice. Parents look more and more to their primary health care providers to provide environmental health information - including diagnosis, treatment, and counseling on prevention strategies. However, many providers are often not equipped with the specific knowledge needed to effectively assist their patients in addressing environmental health issues.

Many federal agencies, including EPA, are engaged in developing partnerships with the health care community to integrate their agency's environmental health messages into educational and practice settings.

Northwest Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Unit

Northwest Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty logo The Northwest Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Unit (PEHSU) works within our region to reduce environmental risks for children through training for health professionals, communities and families through consultation, educational activities, and referrals.

The Northwest PEHSU is a respected network of experts in children's environmental health, created to ensure that children and communities have access to - usually at no cost - special medical knowledge and resources for children faced with a health risk due to a natural or human-made environmental hazard.

Northwest Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Unit Exit EPA disclaimer
Service area: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington
Academic Affiliation: University of Washington School of Public Health
Location: Seattle, Washington
For assistance contact 1-877-KID-CHEM

Other Resources for Health Care Providers

EPA's Office of Children's Health Protection has developed a list of resources for health care providers free-of-charge online. It includes information on the following topics in pediatric environmental health: general information, air quality, asthma, lead, mercury, mold, pesticides, and water.


Local Navigation


URL: http://yosemite.epa.gov/R10/ECOCOMM.NSF/Childrenshealth/healthcare

Jump to main content.