Brownfields Cleanup & Redevelopment | Region 10 | US EPA

Jump to main content.


Brownfields Cleanup & Redevelopment

What is a Brownfield?

A Brownfield is defined as property or mine-scarred land where the expansion, redevelopment, or reuse of it is complicated by the real or potential presence of a hazardous substance, pollutant, contaminants controlled substances, petroleum or petroleum products.

EPA Region 10's Brownfields Program works to clean up and redevelop land in the Pacific Northwest, making it easier for such lands to become vital, functioning parts of their communities. The material here describes Brownfields activities within Region 10's states and tribal lands. The national Brownfields home page provides information on applying for Brownfields grants, recent legislation, news, and more.

News and Announcements

FY15 Grant Webinars and Trainings Announced

Visit our Conferences, Trainings, and Workshops page for the latest schedule of webinars and trainings.  This year’s webinars will be hosted by EPA and partners and will provide FY15 RFP guidance and tips and tricks for putting together a competitive proposal.

2015 National Brownfields Conference

The 2015 National Brownfields Training Conference will be held in Chicago, IL, September 2 - 4, 2015.  The Conference will be held at the Chicago Hilton on Michigan Ave.  Additional meeting space and sleeping rooms will be available at the Palmer House Hilton.

Please visit the Conference Website for additional information: www.brownfieldsconference.org

The Brownfields 2015 Training Conference is from September 2-4, 2015 in Chicago.

2015 National Brownfields Training Conference Flyer

Multi-Purpose Grant FAQs

EPA has prepared these frequently asked questions (FAQs) (PDF) (39 pp, 178K) to assist potential applicants with the Multi-Purpose Pilot Grant.

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

U.S. EPA Region 10
Office of Environmental Cleanup
Brownfields Program
1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900 (ECL-112)
Seattle, Washington 98101-3140


State Contacts:

 Alaska:
Mary Goolie (goolie.mary@epa.gov), (907) 271-3414
 Idaho:
Susan Morales (morales.susan@epa.gov), (206) 553-7299
 Oregon:
Mike Slater (slater.mike@epa.gov), (503) 326-5872
 Washington:
Deborah Burgess (burgess.deborah@epa.gov), (360) 753-9079

Program Lead Contacts:

 Brownfields Coordinator:
Susan Morales (morales.susan@epa.gov), (206) 553-7299
 Area-Wide Planning:
Mary Goolie (goolie.mary@epa.gov), (907) 271-3414
 Job Training Grants:
Robert Tan (tan.robert@epa.gov), (206) 553-2580
 Targeted Brownfields Assessments:
Joanne Labaw (labaw.joanne@epa.gov), (206) 553-2594
 Assessments, Cleanups, and Revolving Loan Fund Grants:
Terri Griffith (griffith.terri@epa.gov), (206) 553-8511
 State/Tribal Response Program Grants:
Mary Goolie (goolie.mary@epa.gov), (907) 271-3414

To join the Region 10 Brownfields mailing group for the latest news and announcements, please send your name, organization and preferred email address to: Brownfields.R10@epa.gov



Local Navigation


Jump to main content.